It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > For Sale - LAN Parties - Other > Off-Topic Hangout
Doom III tweaks, mods, gameplay experience Doom III tweaks, mods, gameplay experience
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Doom III tweaks, mods, gameplay experience
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th August 2004, 09:21   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Doom III tweaks, mods, gameplay experience

http://www.ingame.de/filebase/index....d=135&fid=1660

Diese Modifikation erlaubt es, das Self-Shadowing zu aktivieren, ganz ohne High-End-Hardware. Natürlich geht dies aber zu Lasten der Performance. Für alle DOOM 3 Fans mit entsprechender Hardware allerdings ein 'must have'!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th August 2004, 09:24   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Common problems and fixes for DOOM 3

source: http://www.forumplanet.com/planetdoo...33&tid=1439944

Problem
Black and or White Snow Speckles and Fuzzie.


Reason
This is caused by either ram or core having errors in processing, due to voltage, heat or over clocking. This can also be caused for the reason DOOM 3 uses ALOT of your CORE that 99.9% of the other games do not use.


Solutions
1) Assure your case is well ventilated and cooled, make sure you are running the proper cooling on your card (heat sink and ram sinks) if you are over clocking.

2) Try grabbing a utility that will under clock your core slightly (i.e. 375mhz down to 360mhz).

3) Dissable any background applications that run in your task bar (Virus Scan, Seti@home, Winamp Agent, Quicktime).

4) Make sure your computers CPU or BUS is not over clocked. Check your Bios to make sure that your BUS Speed is default (i.e. 133, 266, 300) what ever it may be and make sure your RAM is not over clocked as well.

5) Check to see that FASTWRITES is disabled in either your BIOS or your SMARTGART in the ATI display control panel.

__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
Stutters when opening doors, or turning corners into larger rooms.


Reason
This is due to Texture-Thrashing. This occurs when the textures that are cached in the game, don't fully fit into video memory and they are temporarily stored in your system ram until they are needed "on screen". When entering that new area, your system frantically gathers those textures from System Memory and shoved it through your AGP bus into your Video Memory.

Solutions
1) If you are using an ATI video card, download the latest betas 4.9 with optimized OPENGL for DOOM 3: DOWNLOAD HERE!!

2) In your DOOM3/BASE folder open DOOMCONFIG.CFG using notepad, find "seta image_cacheMegs" and change the number value to roughly 1/4 of your available ram (512 = 128, or 1GB = 256); you must also set “seta image_useCache” to “1”. Also “seta image_CacheMinK” needs to be set higher than the default, or the game will crash on start. I recommend a value of “20480” is a good starting value, but you can definitely go higher. This does not raise your max frame rate at all, but this will smooth out the transition phase when doors are opened or when entering a NEW area that needs to cache more textures. Through many reports this has helped a lot of people run much more smoothly on their machines.

3) Check your video card settings and make sure AA is off and other performance effecting settings are off.

4) Turn on Triple Buffering and VSync.

5) Turn down the detail one level or lower the resolution by one level.

6) Make sure your Sideband-Addressing is enabled in the Bios.

7) Make sure you are running at max AGP speed (4x, 8x, ect.).

8) Make sure you have your latest GART drivers installed. For VIA and nVidia Chipsets.

9) If you can and have no other issues, you can slightly overclock your RAM on your video card (unsupported use with caution you could fry your card)

10) You can decompress the PAK files using WINRAR and place the contents in the BASE folder for faster access. This has been reported to FIX MANY studdering and performance problems on many machines. The directions can be found HERE


__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
Program crashes out to desktop or makes screen goes completely black.


Reason
I have no Idea why this happens. But I will give you a list of things you can try that could clear it up.


Solutions
1) Update your video card to the LATEST drivers.(WHQL for NVIDIA and I would try the 4.9 betas from ATI.)

2) Make sure you are not using DUAL monitor outs, or a DVI port. Try connecting monitor to the standard analog VGA port.

3) Try renaming the DOOMCONFIG.CFG file in the DOOM3/BASE Folder to DOOMCONFIG.BAK and re-launch the game to create a fresh default copy. (this will prevent some crashing to desktop.

4) If you are running the latest drivers you can uninstall them completly (even using driver cleaner) and reinstall them from scratch.

5) Programs can crash to the desktop and hard lock if your CPU or your BUS/System memory is running out of SPEC. Try checking your BUS Speed and memory speed in the BIOS.

6) You can disable your sound card to make sure that the Sound_INIT commands in DOOM3 aren't crashing the program. (Some buggy Audigy problems.)

7) Try logging into another PROFILE in your windows machine. Try the Administrator account (at login screen hit CNTL-ALT -DEL twice or three times to bring up manual logon, type Administrator in the user name and use the password you created when setting windows up) This is to rule our Profile settings or corruption that may cause this issue.

8) Make sure your swap fire is not hard coded into a size limit too small for DOOM3 to use. Go to "System" control panel, then to Advanced / Performance Tab, then to performance options, under second tab you should have a CHANGE under the swap file settings. Change the min and amx of the file to at least twice the size of your hardware memory size (i.e. 512 = 1024)

9) Check with your motherboard manufacturer to assure that you have the latest motherboard bios. This has been reported to fix some issues with a 9600+ cards.

__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
Audigy Cards are clicking, popping, and making funny noises. (this can also cause lockups after extended play when the sound buffer errors out)


Reason
This, as I can tell can only be due to buggy drivers/software. The Direct Sound Acceleration in DOOM 3 may not get along with your Audigy Drivers.


Solutions
1) Update your sound card drivers Sound Blaster Support Site

2) Install the 3rd party "kxproject" Drivers. They Work on all EMU10K model sound card chipsets. They can be downloaded HERE.

3) Open up "DoomConfig.CFG in your "Doom 3\base\" folder. Scroll down to the entry "seta s_maxSoundsPerShader "0" and change the "0" to a "1." Save it.

4) If you feel the sound problem is interfering with the games ability to RUN at all. You can go into the SYSTEM control panel, and then to the HARDWARE TAB, then to DEVICE MANAGER, under "sound video and game controllers" right click your sound card and click disable. Reboot and then relaunch game to see if the issue is resolved.

5) Again make sure your Bus is not over clocked. Over clocking the bus also over clocks your PCI bus and speed. Normal PCI speed is 33mhz, if you raise that, it will effect the stability of all PCI cards that are stressed.

__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
Blurry text when in menus and/or ingame PDA screens.


Reason
The texture resolution that is being rendered by the card is lower than the original text messages and screens. Or your ant aliasing is turned on.


Solutions
1) Turn all Anti Aliasing off or any other performance effecting filters or settings.

2) Reinstall Video Drivers (uninstall and reinstall) to reset factory defaults.

3) Rename DOOM3/BASE/DOOMCONFIG.CFG file to DOOMCONFIG.BAK. and relaunch doom. The CFG file has settings for scaling down textures, and if they are set to 128 or lower the textured on all loading screens and text look TERRIBLE.

4) Bring down the console (ctl-alt-~) and run “image_lodbias 0”. That is reported to also clear up the blurry text.

__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
MultiPlayer error when trying to join a SERVER. "SERVER FULL"


Reason
Game bug with MP at this time. future patch will resolve this issue.


Solutions
1) WORKAROUND: Typing in the ip address manually (which is displayed when the server title is clicked once); and connect directly gets around this problem.

__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
Game won’t load and constantly asks for Disk 1.


Reason
Possible problem with authenticating the first disk on some CDROM drives. Similar issue with Diablo 2 when it first came out. Could also be an issue with CLONECD emulation drives.


Solutions
1) Try updating the firmware on yoru CDROM drive. The Firmware can be obtained at the manufactures website.

2) If you have clonecd on your PC (even if you never use it) go to it's location in the Start Menu and run Clone CD Tray (if you dont already have it running in your system tray). Now go to the CloneCD Icon in the system tray, right click on it and UNTICK "Hide CDR Media". The Clone CD System tray icon should now go black and white, you can now right click on the icon and hit exit to close it again (that setting will be saved). Try again and Doom 3 could work for you.

3) WORKAROUND: Download the NOCD Crack from the internet. If you LEGALLY own the game you can download it at Game Copy World. Please make sure you own the legal copy of the game. And beware; this crack will break multiplayer functionality.

__________________________________________________ _________

Problem
Game freezes momentarily, then all the lights suddenly vanish, except for coronas and monitors, flashlight also casts no light anymore.


Reason
This seems to happen on a specific card, namely the Geforce4 Ti 4600 128mb, it also happens on specific areas in the game(i.e. "administration area during the cutscene as you step off the lift).


Solutions
1) Go to www.omegadrivers.net and get the latest release (1.5672 i believe), this solved the problem completely and i have never seen a reoccurrance of the problem.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th August 2004, 09:35   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

A few DOOM 3 mods are now available for you to download and play with (thanks GamesZone). Here's the list (a first look multiplayer movie with some nice frags and tricky jumps is also available): http://www.gamershell.com/news/14535.html

DOOM 3 32 Player Server (35 KB)
DOOM 3 Any OS (2.3 MB)
DOOM 3 Gore Patch (1.3 MB)
DOOM 3 Ultra Extreme Quality Mod (250 KB)
DOOM 3 Coop (3 KB)
DOOM 3 Chainsaw Only Mod (3 KB)
DOOM 3 RocketDM Mod (3 KB)
DOOM 3 Fight Club Mod (6 KB)
DOOM 3 First Look Multiplayer Movie (62.6 MB)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th August 2004, 11:58   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Doom3/FPSVisuals.htm

image_anisotropy
Sets the maximum texture anisotropy if
available in the renderer. Set this cvar to 0 (faster) to 20 (slower)


image_filter
Changes texture filtering used for mipmapped images
"GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST" (faster)
"GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR" (slower)


r_shadows
Enables or disables shadows

Set to 0(faster) or 1(slower)


r_useOptimizedShadows
Determines if static shadow volumes are used

Set to 1(faster) or 0(slower)


r_useTurboShadow
Use a faster technique for generating dynamic shadows
Set to 1(faster) or 0(slower)



image_roundDown
Controls if incorrectly sized textures are resized so they are close to a power of two.

Set to 1(resize) or 0(no resize)


r_skipBump
Controls bump mapping, can be set so that games uses a flat surface instead of bump maps

Set to 1(faster / uglier) or 0 (slower)


r_skipSpecular
Uses black for specular lighting, not worth the FPS gain in singleplayer

Set to 1(faster / uglier) or 0 (slower)


r_skipOverlays
Skip overlay surfaces on textures. Negligible FPS gain.

Set to 1(faster / uglier) or 0 (slower)


r_skipFogLights
Skip all fog lighting, negligible FPS gain.

Set to 0(slower) or 1(faster)


r_skipPostProcess
Skip all post-process rendering such as distortion on windows glass / etc. FPS gain on some systems.

Set to 0(slower) or 1(faster)


r_skipBlendLights
Skip all blending of lights, not worth the negligible FPS gain in singleplayer

Set to 0(slower) or 1(faster)


r_skipDynamicTextures
Do not dynamically create textures, may help for slower systems

Set to 0(slower) or 1(faster)


r_skipMegaTexture
Controls if the lowest level texture is always used. Not worth the , negligible FPS gain.

Set to 1(faster / uglier) or 0 (slower)


r_skipTranslucent
Controls translucent interaction rendering such as the loading bar. FPS gain on some systems.

Set to 1(faster) or 0 (slower)


image_lodbias
Controls lod bias on mipmapped images

Range from -2 (slower / crisper) to 2 (faster / uglier)


pm_runbob
pm_runpitch
pm_runroll
pm_bobpitch
pm_bobroll
pm_bobup
pm_crouchbob
pm_walkbob

Controls 'bobbing' up/down/side movement of player. Can help if you get motion sickness

Set each of the bob cvars to 0 to disable bobbing

image_downSizeBump
image_downSizeBumpLimit
Controls resizing of textures for bump maps. Helpful if your video card has less than 256 megabyte of video ram

Set image_downSizeBump to 0(disabled) or 1(enabled)

Set image_downSizeBumpLimit higher(slower) or lower(faster)
Try 512 for 128 megabyte video cards and 256 for 64 megabyte video cards


image_downSizeSpecular
image_downSizeSpecularLimit
Controls resizing of textures for bump maps. Helpful if your video card has less than 256 megabyte of video ram

Set image_downSizeSpecular to 0(disabled) or 1(enabled)

Set image_downSizeSpecularLimit higher(slower) or lower(faster)
Set to 64 for 128 megabyte or 64 megabyte video cards


image_downSize
image_downSizeLimit
Controls resizing of textures for bump maps. Helpful if your video card has less than 256 megabyte of video ram

Set image_downSize to 0(disabled) or 1(enabled)

Set image_downSizeLimit higher(slower) or lower(faster)
Try 512 for 128 megabyte video cards and 256 for 64 megabyte video cards



image_forceDownSize
Forces resizing of textures. Not worth the FPS gain in singleplayer

Set to 0(slower) or 1(faster)


ui_showGun
Shows or hides your on screen gun model.
Set to 1(slower) or 0(faster)


image_useCache
image_cacheMegs
image_cacheMinK
Controls memory set aside for temporary loading of full-sized precompressed images and files.

WARNING - When set incorrectly this can cause Doom3 to crash at startup or cause instability/graphical artifacts in game.

Set cache megs to a higher value if you have 512 megabytes or more of system RAM. Guideline is 1/6 to 1/4 of your system RAM.

Set image_cacheMinK to 2048, this can be lower but may cause Doom3 to crash.

Set image_useCache to 1 to enable background load image caching


image_useCompression
Determines if textures are used compressed.

Set to 0 (uncompressed, high quality)
Set to 1 (compressed, slight loss of quality)

Important: Only set to 0 if you have over 256 megabyte of video ram.


image_useNormalCompression
Determines how normal textures are compressed.

Unconfirmed settings:

Set to 2 for higher quality/larger/slower rxgb compression
Set to 1 for lower quality/smaller/faster 256 compression


image_ignoreHighQuality
Controls high quality settings on materials. Not worth the FPS gain in singleplayer

Set to 0(slower) or 1(faster)

g_bloodEffects
Controls blood splats, sprays and gibs

Set to 0 (faster) or 1 (slower)


g_decals
Control if decals such as bullet holes, burns on walls etc. are shown

Set to 0 (faster) or 1 (slower)


g_showBrass
Controls if animation of ejected shells from weapons is shown.
Set to 0 (faster) or 1 (slower)



g_skipFX
Controls if additional in game graphic effects are used

Set to 1 (faster) or 0 (slower)


g_skipViewEffects
Controls damage and other view effects

Set to 1 (faster) or 0 (slower)


g_projectileLights
g_skipParticles
r_skipParticles
Control if projectiles such as fireballs, plasma bolts etc. create dynamic lights or particles when fired (unconfirmed)

Set g_projectileLights to 0(faster) or 1 (slower)

set g_skipParticles and r_skipParticles to 1(faster) or 0 (slower). Do not alter r_skipParticles for singleplayer.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th August 2004, 11:58   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BuiZe
  • "timedemo demo1"-testen eerst eens draaien om alles in te laden, slechts vanaf 2e run is score representatief.
  • coop + 32player MP @ http://justbi0.de/d3.html
  • de pk4's extracten (winzip/winrar/...) zou performance moeten verbeteren, wel de pk4's achteraf wissen/renamen (en 4GB plaats voorzien voor extracted data)
  • com_videoRam: standaard 64, in console veranderen naar grootte van uw videokaart geheugen.
  • vid_restart: ipv spel gans opnieuw te moeten opstarten na settings te veranderen.
  • volgende 3 settings aanpassen in config file:
    seta image_useCache = "1"
    seta image_CacheMinK = "20480"
    seta image_cacheMegs -> change the number value to roughly 1/4 of your available ram (512 = 128, or 1GB = 256)

nog tips iemand?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th August 2004, 14:32   #6
the maniak
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Doom3/FPSVisuals.htm

few things are already said, but found a few new things
 
Old 5th August 2004, 14:36   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that link is in my 3rd post
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th August 2004, 16:41   #8
the maniak
 
Posts: n/a
Default

damn i'm going blind
 
Old 10th August 2004, 19:53   #9
psychoduck
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.beyond3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14874
 
Old 10th August 2004, 20:30   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

old news & gives artifacts!
Sharp Touts World’s First 3D TFT Displays
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doom III: Project Mars City Case mod Finished! jmke WebNews 0 13th February 2006 22:44
DOOM III v1.3 Patch Sidney WebNews 0 25th May 2005 01:50
Doom III running on 3dfx voodoo2 cards ! Magnum_ General Madness - System Building Advice 5 25th November 2004 19:42
HEXUS.net Review: Doom III StaRflaM WebNews 0 24th November 2004 19:28
Gainward offers Doom III as well jmke WebNews 0 25th August 2004 11:39
Doom III at Firingsquad: Excellent review, Worth a read! jmke WebNews 3 6th August 2004 12:23
Be Doomed: Performance Preview of the Doom III Game jmke WebNews 0 4th August 2004 10:27
DOOM III Cheats jmke WebNews 2 4th August 2004 10:25
Creative gives background to Doom III shadow story jmke WebNews 0 29th July 2004 13:08
New Doom III Screens jmke WebNews 5 8th December 2003 19:14

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:55.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO