It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD Optimal BIOS settings + Overclocking Guide AMD Optimal BIOS settings + Overclocking Guide
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Optimal BIOS settings + Overclocking Guide
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th January 2004, 18:47   #41
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TeuS
the chipset voltage obviously controls ... the chipset voltage

when you seem to hit a wall in raising the FSB, and nothing works to raise the FSB (the CPU can't cope with the speed, higher vmem, looser timings) it's your chipset that can't keep up with the high FSB
And what about when I can't get a higher multiplier, does upping the chipset voltage help to obtain higher mulitplier? Or does this ONLY work when you can't get FSB higher and upping your ram voltage doesn't help?

Quote:
Originally posted by TeuS
that's the wrong way, sorry. there's nothing really wrong with raising the voltage from start, but start with the tightest timings. when you're raising the FSB and you can't get higher, then you have to loosen the timings to get higher. if you set your timings and voltage to the maximum right away, you don't know if it's your memory who's actually stopping you from raising the FSB because the voltage and timings are already at the maximum

most people prefer tight timings, so they start with tight timings. when their FSB is about at the limit with the highest timings, they loosen the timings to see if the FSB gets higher and to see if the FSB gain with looser timings is faster
Well, it said in the article: to find your tightest timings; raise the memory voltage to max. So I figured: If you get stuck, it's either timings holding you back in reaching higher FSB or it's the proc (,mobo?) that just can't take higher FSB's, but it's not because of the voltage because it's already at max.

Other than that it's just like you said, testing to see what FSB//RAM timings works best
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 19:08   #42
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
not because of the voltage because it's already at max.
that your motherboard allows, if want to squeeze every last ounce of performance out of your ram you might want to raise it up to 3.2+v :grin:
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 19:31   #43
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kristos

And what about when I can't get a higher multiplier, does upping the chipset voltage help to obtain higher mulitplier? Or does this ONLY work when you can't get FSB higher and upping your ram voltage doesn't help?
raising the chipset voltage only helps when the chipset can't go any higher, and you really can't know if it's your memory, CPU (!) or mainboard stopping you from raising the FSB

e.g. most nforce² boards need a higher chipset (vdd) voltage to work above 210~220mhz FSB

Quote:
Originally posted by kristos

Well, it said in the article: to find your tightest timings; raise the memory voltage to max. So I figured: If you get stuck, it's either timings holding you back in reaching higher FSB or it's the proc (,mobo?) that just can't take higher FSB's, but it's not because of the voltage because it's already at max.
yep, that's right
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 14:56   #44
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When I try to reach my highest multiplier (166*XX; 177*XX;etc.), do I keep my memory on a 1:1 divider, do I keep it on it's standard Mhz (pc3200 @ 400Mhz), or does it make no difference at all in my quest for highest OC on multiplier?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 14:58   #45
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

1:1 is usually the best choice
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 15:38   #46
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

.. for performance is your memory is capable of the increased speeds
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 01:31   #47
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

if I set the ram on a 1:1 divider it'll be running at lower then specified Mhz
That shouldn't be a problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2005, 16:56   #48
Chiptek
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need more info

The guide is good but not specific enough can you clarify a couple of things for me?

1. You say about finding the max mhz which sounds easy enough however at which point should we stop raising the voltage? 1.9? i sure as heck aint raising the voltage on my 2600+ 333 t/bred to its maximum. So where should i stop ?

Also i noticed something really strange. I downloaded 3dmark 2001se and did the tests after each multiplier increase. Was doing great until i got to 13.5 and then it seemed as if the fps in the program wasnt picking up correctly and at the end the score was like only 6000 compared to teh 13385 when multiplier was at 13? what causes this

I have 1 gig dual ddr ram pc2700 cheapo stuff. and a radeon 9800 pro. My systsem is watercooled however the cpu temp reads 47 when multiplier is at 14 this good or bad?
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II 955 BE overclocking guide thorgal WebNews 0 22nd June 2009 09:04
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 17:17
AMD K10 - Phenom Overclocking Guide Massman WebNews 0 18th June 2008 22:34
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 21:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 10:33
Amd bios settings article Chiptek Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 4th September 2005 19:28
AMD Athlon 64 General Overclocking Guide jmke Articles & Howto's 3 26th May 2005 06:54
INFO: AMD/INTEL Optimal BIOS settings + Overclocking Guide jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 29th October 2003 17:30
INFO: Abit KR7A(-R) Optimal Bios settings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 1 25th February 2003 07:29
INFO: Abit KG7 Optimal BIOS settings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 25th May 2002 16:34

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:11.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO