It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Supreme Commander Performance Tests Supreme Commander Performance Tests
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Supreme Commander Performance Tests
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th February 2007, 13:54   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Supreme Commander Performance Tests

CPU or GPU dependent, Supreme Commander is quite taxing on your whole system

"Therefore, before purchasing this game or even considering a hardware upgrade, it will be important to know first if your computer will run it, and second how good it will actually look while doing so. There is indeed a massive difference between low and high quality settings in Supreme Commander, suggesting older systems will still be able to run this title, which is always good news. However like I said, this game looks fantastic and playing it with low visual quality settings is almost criminal... a graphics card upgrade may be in order for some fanatics!

http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=617
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 15:19   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Lack of CPU testing, game is very CPU dependent, no details on how he got the FPS in SupCom;

With 7900GT I played 1600x1200 high detail, with 8800GTX I added 4xAA/16xAF, only slowdowns I notice is due to too many units in the game (note: not on screen..) which is lack of CPU power! and that with Core 2 Duo @ 2.8ghz, with 4 AI, over 4000 units are present in game, taxing the CPU to the fullest.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 07:32   #3
Member
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

game runs horribly on my default sli7900gtx with fx53 and 1 gig of ram (as do many games lately...
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 07:43   #4
Member
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

time for quad core doctor
easypanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 10:11   #5
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think 1 gig of memory is pretty crippling to a system like this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 10:57   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

his 1gb is enough, what resolution are you running doc? Dual Core does make the difference in this game; but I must say that the game was playable 1600x1200 with Opteron SC @ 2.2Ghz and 7900GT / 1Gb

up to 3-way FFA goes okay, more than that, near end game, things slow down.

With Core 2 @ 2.8ghz and G80 / 2Gb I run at 1600x1200 dual screen, 4xAA/16xAF, 4-way games are easy now
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA PhysX Performance Tests jmke WebNews 0 6th November 2009 10:27
CORSAIR AND DELL USHER IN 1600MHz MEMORY FOR EXTREME GAMING PERFORMANCE jmke WebNews 1 3rd June 2008 18:17
DDR3 vs. DDR2 - Performance tests on Intel P35 Chipset jmke WebNews 4 16th May 2007 11:06
Supreme Commander Performance Tweak Guide jmke WebNews 1 7th March 2007 12:53
Supreme Commander Review jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2007 10:54
Supreme Commander Goes Gold jmke WebNews 0 18th January 2007 23:33
Supreme Commander Q&A jmke WebNews 3 11th December 2006 10:37
Supreme Commander Profile Preview - History of the United Earth Federation jmke WebNews 0 12th June 2006 16:45
F.E.A.R. GPU Performance Tests: Setting a New Standard Sidney WebNews 14 23rd October 2005 15:35

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:04.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO