It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
To SLI or not to SLI To SLI or not to SLI
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


To SLI or not to SLI
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th March 2005, 21:43   #1
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default To SLI or not to SLI

PC gamers looking for a video card that can run all current games well, without costing them a fortune, are well advised to go for a GeForce 6600 GT. The 66GT isn't the One True Chipset that's streets ahead of every other option in bang per buck, but it's not too expensive, and it's a solid performer at the moment, and it won't be excruciatingly out of date in a couple of years........

So. Winchester-core A64s good, SLI 6600s bad, SLI 6800s a better idea, but you'd better bring a fat wallet and be prepared for occasional computer misbehaviour.

http://www.dansdata.com/slibox.htm

Always a pleasure to read Dan's comment
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 09:39   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

a good read on the SLI story, however I spotted some none-SLI related errors in his write-up

Quote:
In this case, that premium is around 25%, compared with the price of a perfectly good two-stick 1Gb PC3200 kit from, say, Corsair. But the G.Skill RAM's officially specified, right there on the sticker, to run at "PC4400" speed with 2.5-3-3-7 timings. That's a 37.5% overclock, and you may be able to get even more. The Corsair chips won't do that.
Corsair has plenty of products which can obtain PC4400 speeds
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...&articID=2 77

the other part which needs some correction is the whole mem speed vs htt speed :

Quote:
The overclocking-headroom thing matters, because if you're overclocking an Athlon 64, you're overclocking its RAM, too. AMD64 chips like the A64 have onboard memory controllers, which are locked to the FSB (it's a HyperTransport link speed, not a Front Side Bus, but that's what everybody still calls the clock speed that's subjected to a multiplier in order to give the processor core speed). Other CPUs let you uncouple processor speed from memory speed; AMD64 doesn't. You can change the multiplier, but only downward, that's how AMD's "Cool'n'Quiet Technology" works, and it's also useful when you're establishing your RAM's limits, but it's no good for getting the core speed up.
If you buy a decent A64 motherboard you'll have memory divider options in the bios, much like with P4/AXP boards, which allow you run the HTT and MEM async, letting the HTT climb high, while keeping the MEMspeed itself low; and best of all.. there is only a VERY small drop in performance versus running memory in sync; we're talking below <3% difference here. Running 270HTT with mem at 200 (CL2 2-2-5 1T) versus 270HTT with mem at 270 (CL2.5 3-3-7 1T) translates into equal performance.

therefore it is not really needed for your A64 platform to buy more expensive memory just so you can overclock. Get a decent OC motherboard (MSI Neo / DFI Lanparty) and you're set!
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 16:41   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Dan updated his write-up, take a look

__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 17:04   #4
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

We all learn new stuffs daily.:^)
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Releases SLI Enhancement Patch v18 (10.22.09) jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2009 15:58
SLI licensed to run on X58 mainboards from ASUS, EVGA, MSI, Gigabyte and DFI jmke WebNews 0 22nd October 2008 14:22
NVIDIA Brings SLI Technology to Intel Bloomfield CPU Platforms jmke WebNews 1 14th July 2008 23:13
MSI K9N SLI Platinum motherboard jmke WebNews 0 17th August 2006 09:52
ECS unveils its first Intel motherboard supporting SLI technology jmke WebNews 0 6th February 2006 16:55
nForce4 SLI Motherboards: Premium Performance at a Bargain Price jmke WebNews 0 4th January 2006 11:52
ECS Introduces NVIDIA NFORCE4 SLI x16 motherboard jmke WebNews 0 23rd November 2005 20:21
NVIDIA Selects Corsair as its First Certified SLI Ready Memory jmke WebNews 0 3rd November 2005 19:19
ECS unveils A64 DualCore, Crossfire, nVidia SLI motherboards jmke WebNews 2 1st June 2005 17:24
NVIDIA SLI Revolution Begins with Launch of ASUS A8N-SLI jmke WebNews 0 17th November 2004 16:43

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO