It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
GeForce 280 GTX Tri-SLI Tested -  Crysis Finally Playable? GeForce 280 GTX Tri-SLI Tested - Crysis Finally Playable?
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


GeForce 280 GTX Tri-SLI Tested - Crysis Finally Playable?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th June 2008, 10:01   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,006
jmke has disabled reputation
Default GeForce 280 GTX Tri-SLI Tested - Crysis Finally Playable?

Have a look at that folks, I can finally play the game on my 30" Dell monitor Obviously it ridiculous how much money we had to spend to achieve that. But yeah .. a truly amazing experience and phenomenal performance. 3-way SLI scales well .. very well.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...review-test/10
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 10:30   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,006
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

More Tri-SLI benchies http://firingsquad.com/hardware/nvid...nce/page13.asp
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 11:14   #3
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Strange, going from 2way to 3way yields higher improvements than going from single to 2way
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 11:18   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,006
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

previous Tri-SLI with G92 by Anandtech showed much lower increase going from 2 to 3. Either GTX 280 has much improved handling and dealing with 2+ SLI, or testing of both Firingquad & Guru is flawed




some games really scale well with 3-SLI (3x the performance) others hardly notice difference between 2 and 3 SLI
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 11:27   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
thorgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,887
thorgal Freshly Registered
Default

In the above graph, 8800GT SLI is also not faster than single 280GTX
__________________



thorgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 12:09   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,006
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

512Mb on 8800 GT is the cause my friend
2560x1600 with 4xAA/16xAF needs more memory.

check this result from Anandtech at 1600x1200



1600x1200 4xAA
GTX280: 109FPS
GT SLI: 109FPS

also notice that 9800GX2 at 1920x1200 is on par/cheaper than GTX 280.

only people with 30" LCD should consider GTX280; all lower resolutions can find better price/performance products
Attached Thumbnails
geforce-280-gtx-tri-sli-tested-crysis-finally-playable-aaetqw_large.png
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Galaxy GeForce GTX 465 in SLI Tested jmke WebNews 0 3rd June 2010 13:57
SLI on X58 Tested with GTX 280 and 3DMark Vantage: it works! jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2008 18:26
GeForce GTX 280 SLI jmke WebNews 0 9th July 2008 09:08
NVidia considers an across-the-board overhaul of its marketing strategy Shogun WebNews 4 9th May 2008 14:08
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTX tested in SLI jmke WebNews 1 8th November 2006 12:34

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:59.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO