It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Netbook Netbook
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Netbook
Closed Thread

Old 18th October 2008, 17:50   #1
SuAside

Default Netbook

I'm currently looking for a netbook. I'm kinda sick of lugging around my fullsized laptop on the motorcycle (and/or train). I'm getting a new one at work soon (to get rid of that Dell D630), but that'll be full-sized & with higher performance. What I want now, is a netbook to complement it.

The toughest piece of software it'll be required to run is MS SQL Management Studio 2008. I know the display won't really make it easy to use and that it'll run slow, but as a sysadmin I'll probably need to be able to run a few queries when I'm in a pinch (from whatever location I may be at that point in time). Other sysadmin stuff for when I'm cornered will be remote desktop and Putty/SSH/WinSCP, though those are obviously less stressing than the Management Studio.
I expect to be typing out quite a few of reports (which I never get time to do at work), so a rather user friendly keyboard would be nice.

As an odd quirk perhaps in the netbook market, I'd personally prefer a normal HDD over solid state drives. Why? Well, various reasons, some of which probably not entirely correct (since I'm not totally up to date on the solid state technologies).

Wishful thinking on my part would be that the netbook has the ability to transform into a tablet with a touchscreen. It would certainly be an asset for reading documentation, reports and even e-books on the move (in the train, while waiting somewhere, etc).

As there is always some time to kill somewhere, I'm also hoping to run some really old games on it, like Fallout 1 & 2. Systemrequirements wise, this shouldn't be a problem, but it would be totally awesome if I could play that with the touchscreen.