It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
start-up problems in XP after HW upgrade start-up problems in XP after HW upgrade
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


start-up problems in XP after HW upgrade
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd April 2006, 11:22   #1
obixena
 
Posts: n/a
Default start-up problems in XP after HW upgrade

Hello all,

I just installed new mobo A8N5X - AMD64 3000 and new PCIe AX300SE, OS XP prof.

I'm using my old SATA HD and all old installed apps and drivers from the last HW config P4-AGP.

When booting I get a startup problem indicating a lot of drivers failed to start.

I can only start up in safe mode, when trying in normal mode pc restarts after entering my password. It initiatilzes keyboard and then restarts..

exact message is
the following start-up or system drivers failed to load
AFD
AmdK8
Fips
IPSec
MRxSmb
Netbios
NetBt
Rasacd
Rdbss
tcpip
ws2ifsl

What can be the issue, I already googled a lot but can't find any indication.

I already checked if some drivers are failing, but have no failing devices in devman. Also checked the hidden devices, but can't find any failing.

Can it be HW not installed properly, I'm thinking processor, I had some issues installing the heatsinck..

Any help is much appriciated..

Cheers
 
Old 22nd April 2006, 12:02   #2
uni1313
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: start-up problems in XP after HW upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by obixena
I'm using my old SATA HD and all old installed apps and drivers from the last HW config P4-AGP.
Do you mean that you didn't formatted that drive and didn't do a fresh install of WinXP? If so that explains your problem.
 
Old 22nd April 2006, 12:06   #3
obixena
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So I need a fresh install ...no way I could around it??
 
Old 22nd April 2006, 12:10   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if you hold on to the old XP install you'll run into other problems later on due to the different driver conflicts; the hardware you had before, and you upgraded to is too different. Fresh install in this case is encouraged
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd April 2006, 13:00   #5
obixena
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks all for your quick replies
 
Old 30th April 2006, 01:19   #6
obixena
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hello,

I'm still having issues after my upgrade..seems my mobo was broken so I replaced it, still on warranty .. lukely :-)

So I installed Vista on my new HW but using my old HD. I was able to install Vista, but after the first reboot, Vista froze and I can only enter in save mode.

I wanted to know if somebody else hads the same issues, and if somone can help with that..

Could this indicate a HW issue, or do I need to install my OS on a new HD, it sounds crazy to me ..

Any help is much appreciated ..

I will try to install XP back on Monday, could be a too buggy Vista..

Thanks in advance for your help

Cheers
 
Old 30th April 2006, 11:37   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by obixena

I will try to install XP back on Monday, could be a too buggy Vista..
I would try this first, if that doesn't work you should look into the hardware side to things;

vista is still alpha/beta/gamma software, and not 100% finished of supported
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 30th April 2006, 13:47   #8
obixena
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hello,

Problem solved, idd seems that Vista is too instable/buggy at the moment.

My winxp runs perfect, I should see a considerable increase in power now.. or not? I upgraded from P4 3000 socket 478 to AMD64 3000 socket 939, and moved from AGP to PCIe.

I noticed that there is a version of Vista on the msdn downloads that has bug fixes, but i will wait to d'load and install.. untill there is a newer version..

How can I have the full benefit of the 64bit processor, I know there is a version of XP that support 64 bit, d'load it some time ago.. Is that a bug free version? Or do I need to wait for Vista!!

Thanks all for you advise..

Cheers
 
Old 30th April 2006, 14:01   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,008
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

64-bit OS is not worth it at the moment for a workstation, not enough software support. 32-bit A64 is fast as it gets
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After Google "hack", Microsoft Urges People To Upgrade Away From XP/IE6 jmke WebNews 4 19th January 2010 17:53
Understanding Windows 7 upgrade paths jmke WebNews 0 6th September 2009 10:42
Super Talent Releases New Upgrade SSDs for Dell Inspiron Mini 9 jmke WebNews 0 29th May 2009 09:57
AMD Opteron™ Processor Upgrade Program Drives Faster Time to Benefit in the Data Cent jmke WebNews 0 7th April 2009 13:46
Upgrade from Windows XP to Windows 7... via Vista Trial jmke WebNews 0 24th February 2009 21:22
Windows 7 only has three viable upgrade paths jmke WebNews 0 12th February 2009 18:55
To start or not to start Bosw8er Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 12 29th September 2005 10:09
Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems? Lucky_Luciano Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 14 22nd November 2004 23:08
Socket 423 to Socket 478 Upgrade Adapter jmke WebNews 5 10th June 2004 19:22
Some really odd problems & f*cked up performance teki Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 27th November 2003 16:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO