It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
what is holding me back what is holding me back
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


what is holding me back
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd June 2004, 18:41   #11
calimero
 
Posts: n/a
Default

when i set 1.6 vcore in bios, in windows my voltage is higher (+-1.675, while stressing vcore drops a bit. So your vcore is 1.65 is bios?

And i'm not planning to do a droopmod, it's a waste of time for a bit more performance
 
Old 22nd June 2004, 18:54   #12
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

It's all chip dependent;

The following is what I've experienced with Northwood.

1) One 2.4C no matter how high the vcore, it wouldn't go over 3.06 ghz.
2) Second 2.4C 3.24 Ghz 270 FSB @1.70 Volt; 275FSB 1.725 V.
3) 2.6C no matter how high the vcore; 3.32 or 255 FSB.
4) 2.8C no matter how high the vcore 250FSB

None is restricted by memory; it's the nature of the particular processor. The 2A could go 3.34 Ghz at 1.750V.

For p4, you don't want over 1.80 Volt; non temp related, the proc will have a sudden death from over voltage rather than death from heat.

Some lucky guy will get 3.6 Ghz from 2.4C with 1.70 Volt; some wouldn't get over 3 Ghz.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 22nd June 2004, 23:24   #13
calimero
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When is set my FSB to 260 I have to push the vcore to 1.7 in bios, otherwise i receive errors in prime. In windows while prime95 is running it gave me a vcore of +-1.6 and it' s stable.

Is the vcore psu dependant?
BTW 3.3v and 5V are veryy stable, only 12V goes to +-11.75
 
Old 22nd June 2004, 23:36   #14
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Others may have different opinons; here is mine.

Accurate voltage power supply delivers clean power to a mother board that has below specs power delivery = low voltage at the end.

Most boards are under volt. We would only hope the voltage sensor reading is accurate adding another variable.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 23rd June 2004, 08:49   #15
duploxxx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HardFreak
the best thin to find out whether your PSU is holding u back, is checking the voltages. Maybe upping the VCore will help (but not too high, P4's don't like that).
yep, my opinion too, get a better PSU, had the same problem with my mobile. The chieftec is a nice standard PSU but not when you go to decent oc. and this is a nice oc already.

changed my chieftec 360 to enermax 465 and mobile went stable from 2500 to 26++


duploxxx
 
Old 23rd June 2004, 12:46   #16
calimero
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It 's strange because my 3.3v, 12v,5v are very stable. only my vcore drops(0.1) while stressing and that's the reason why i can t oc further.
I''ll try to bench without those fans (vantec tornado needs a lot of power).
 
Old 23rd June 2004, 13:03   #17
calimero
 
Posts: n/a
Default

after reading this i know that 's not psu related but it's chip dependant.


 
Old 23rd June 2004, 14:08   #18
calimero
 
Posts: n/a
Default

jmke did you do any mods on your p4c800???
 
Old 23rd June 2004, 14:12   #19
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

nope, it's stock


overclock is Chip and PSU dependant, eliminating the PSU by getting a HQ one will make the job easier
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd July 2004, 16:48   #20
calimero
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Which PSU do you suggest?

I've read good things about antec and tagan PSU's
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Consoles Holding Back PC Gaming? jmke WebNews 1 28th March 2010 17:24
Consoles holding back game devs from using DX10/11 jmke WebNews 0 2nd September 2009 12:47
Intel pushes back Pine Trail-D platform and Clarkdale CPUs to 1Q10 jmke WebNews 0 24th July 2009 13:06
Linux - Stop holding our kids back jmke WebNews 0 12th December 2008 17:11
Back to Back Dual Core Processor Competition–When AM2 X2 5000+ meet Intel C2D E6400 windwithme General Madness - System Building Advice 4 18th April 2007 13:33
The Commodore PC is Back jmke WebNews 1 7th March 2007 12:54
Looking Back - The 6800 Ultra, ForceWare, and the Future jmke WebNews 0 11th May 2006 11:52
So long Noiseblocker®, welcome Coolink: the originial blue fan is back jmke WebNews 5 29th December 2005 20:10
What's holding me back? agent #2 Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 14 21st November 2004 12:41

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:11.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO