It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
WC Problem... WC Problem...
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


WC Problem...
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd May 2005, 18:42   #1
KuriMasta
 
Posts: n/a
WC Problem...

My external WC-set:


Owkee, here's the deal... I recently finished my WC set, (external because of the size of my radiator and midi-case) and it runs!

Problem here is the effect isn't much better than air cooled... (about 37-40 celcius idle)

I got a CPU waterjacket by Frigus Engineering.


A 400 l/hr pump from the local aquarium shop. (no pic) in a custom made resevoir.

An internal car radiator of some ford. € 20 and it was mine. Which is about 30x14X4 cm. (no pic again)

Last piece is a 9x9 cm fan bloqing through this car radiator.


The order is as following: Pomp -> CPU -> (soon chipset) -> Radiator -> Resevoir


ATM the WC is disconnected because my chipset block won't fit the hose... and filling/emptying is such a hasle


I really hope you can and want to help me. The only three things i think can be the problem are:[list=1][*]CPU block == wrong[*]400 l/hour won't cut it[*]Radiator should be before the waterjacket instead of after.[/list=1]

Again i really appreciate your help and attention!!
 
Old 23rd May 2005, 20:11   #2
Member
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

is your pump inside your reservoir?

the heat generated by your pump now gets into the water.

400l/h pump is a little to weak i think, you might preffer a 700L or 1200L pump.

yes you can place your reservoir after the rad but it wont do mutch difference
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 21:24   #3
KuriMasta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@jort
First of all, thank you!

Second, it's a pump that must be submerged... but i didn't know it could generate heat at all!!

I've read that 400 l/hour is the minimum and is even the recommended because higher would only get you a few degrees extra...

Besides... the resevoir is build for this pump, it fits excactly... when changing the pump, the pump won't be part of the external set...


Maybe another thing i might mention... my tubing is longer because it's external. All tubing together measures about 4m in length. Is this a problem?

=======

Sorry, just checked something that really might make a biiiigg difference...

As you can see on in picture, i got a cold cathode in my resevoir. While thinking about the hot pump theory, i felt the cathode. Lets just say, you can't keep it in your hands for a long time...

I really hope this is it, i will only be able to check it as soon as my waterchill chipset waterjacket fits on my hosing.

Any other comment is still welcome!!
 
Old 23rd May 2005, 21:44   #4
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It doesn't realy matter how much water the pump moves, the head is much more important, the higher it is, the higher the pump can move the water.
2 400l/h pump can give you very different results, while one has a small head and is hardly able to get the water from the bottom to the cpu (ok, realy bad head), the other one, w/ a higher head, can pump the water even 4 times higher, so the water wil flow in the block will be higher with the high headed pump, altough the are rated at the same waterflow.
Ow, and pump with a higher head will also give a higher flow when there are a lot of obstructions in the loop (blocks, verry restrictive blocks, nozzles, ...)
 
Old 23rd May 2005, 22:11   #5
KuriMasta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@HardFreak

Ok, nice angle!

My pump is a 4x4x4 pump. I assume that's a small pump by your standards. I once put the pump on without any tubes and it got about 30-40 cm from the top of the pump.

I hope i will find a higher pump that fits my resevoir...
 
Old 23rd May 2005, 22:13   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,013
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

or consider an in-line pump, this would remove some heat from the water-loop already, the smaller 12V pumps are pretty good http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=260
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 22:30   #7
KuriMasta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@jmke

Mmmz, that indeed does look really good. But considering i got my pump for like €20-25. It's quite a bigger investment...

I must look into the prices of all them pumps, maybe even score a 2nd hand one
 
Old 24th May 2005, 22:04   #8
KuriMasta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

lil update.

I found a hose compatible with my Waterchill chipset waterjacket. The hose is more transparent and more robust than my current aquarium shop hoses.
So i will chance them all

Now the relevant info:
As you know my WC-set is dismanteled. I simply got rid off the hose on the pump, put it in the closed resevoir and let it run for the day. When i came back, the water indeed was indeed warm. That combined with the warm 'cold cathode' (For which i still need a nice outside of the resevoir solution) is a real hint for either getting a different pump or putting the rad after the pump (something i should have done in the first place).

I will post when changes are made. Hopefully better temps
 
Old 25th May 2005, 11:37   #9
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is the reservoir behind the rad? because that would help a little bit ( but it still does not solve the problem )

My guess is also that your head on your pomp isn't strong enough.
 
Old 25th May 2005, 11:52   #10
KuriMasta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I posted that i thought the pump reached 30-40 cm, besides, it was a long time ago and I'm not sure about it.

But the pump itself says 1m and that should be sufficint... shouldn't it?



I also got a 9cm fan on the rad... but it makes a hell of a lot noise. When turned on, the damn fan vibrates... it even makes this noise when i pick the wooden thing with the fan up.

I'm thinkin bout putting a variable resistance on the fan so the rpm is a bit lower. Hopefully that will help a bit.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the source of the problem? Zemfik Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 18th March 2008 18:23
P4 805 Oc same as the test but... problem Opcod Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 7 8th June 2006 15:56
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
Problem with Promise Sata150 TX4 Roswell Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 27th November 2004 14:41
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 22:23
HD error problem Darkstar Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 21st February 2004 14:21
problem with msn messenger [Bonbon] General Madness - System Building Advice 3 5th February 2004 09:15
Help needed: R9800pro problem FoRCe Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 13th January 2004 15:02
the 333mhz problem kipni Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 22nd May 2003 14:47
boot problem with abit th7-II The Senile Doctor Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 10th June 2002 23:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:14.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO