It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Flash your FX5900 to a FX5950U! Flash your FX5900 to a FX5950U!
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Flash your FX5900 to a FX5950U!
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th January 2004, 22:28   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,010
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Flash your FX5900 to a FX5950Ultra!

thanks to mitwg @ atomicmpc who translated the original article found here to english!

----------------------------------------------------------------------

nVidia used to hardwire all graphic cards with the correct BIOS so flashing cards like ATi wasn't possible...

However, newly released information suggests that the NV38 (5950u) is simply a software rebadged NV35 (5900).

From a simple flash, the 5900's Device id:0331 could be transform into te 5950's device id:0333

Now you may ask yourself about the 128MB vs 256MB question and how the 5900 has both variants while the 5950u only supports 256MB.

Well unlike ATi's cards, nVidia chipsets do not store their buffer memory into its BIOS and rather, the amount of memory onboard is detected each time when then computer is booted. This means that even a 128MB 5900 can be flashed into a 128MB 5950u. This also applies to VIVO. Does this turn you on yet? Wait till the next line...

The card tested on the website is a Leadtek A350 TDH-LX model... If you didn't know already, the LX version of the A350 TDH is a non-ultra version.Also it is a slower version then the original 5900, with clock speeds of 400Mhz core and 700Mhz memory speed. This card was flashed to be a Leadtek A380 TDH model which is the 5950 Ultra @ 475Mhz core and 950Mhz memory.

After 1 hour of testing, GPUtemp is at 47degrees according to the Leadtek/nVidia readings.

6 cards are known and tested to work. These brands are : Leadtek's 5900 series including the slower LX model, Gainward's 5900 series, Elsa 5900 series, Insight 5900 XQ series and Rex Technology 5900 series.

There are two flashroms currently available at the site. The Leadtek A380 5950U is available along with Gainward's 1800Ultra "Golden Sample" bios. Flash program is included in both files.

I just looked at the source code of the homepage to obtain these links. If these don't work then head to www.3dchips.co.kr then click on the downdload section. the first thing you notice would be the huge amounts of bios roms available on the RHS of the page.

nvflash: http://www.nvplanet.com/modules.php?...nload&cid=1 0

Leadtek:
http://www.leadtek.com.tw/support/do...?pronameid=329
ftp://ftp1.leadtek.com/entertainment...80U%20BIOS.zip

Gainward:
http://www.3dchips.co.kr/main/downlo...pds_bios&no=55


Methods:
This is a guide to flahsing ur 5900 card using the Leadtek bios. For gainward bios flash, refer to readme file included.

Make a MS-DOS bootdisk
1.copy and extract all files within the zip file which contains the 5950u bios.

2. Reboot using the bootdisk

3. type 'a:\nvflash -b original.rom'
this backs up your original bios

4. type 'a:\nvflash -f n5950u.rom -u -p'
restart and you're done.



if you do end up flashing your card, do not be surprised to see a Leadtek or a Gainward logo when you boot up even if your card isn't from these two brands.

I did my Gainward 1200XP Ultra "Golden Sample" which defaults at 450Mhz 900Mhz to a 1800XP Ultra and it worked fine and I get about 5%~10% boost i think. I'm hoping Dx9.1 would bring the NV35 series the 60% boost that nVidia and microsoft promised... probably 6% i reckon...
--------------------------------------------------------------------

this guide is provided "as is" we take no responsability if you screw up your videocard.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th January 2004, 23:52   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,010
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

some extra info from the Futuremark Forum

Quote:
ok, Guy's it WORKS !

1. you must download the A380 Ultra Bios

Here it is
http://www.leadtek.com.tw/support/do...?pronameid=329

2. rename A380U_2978.rom in A380U.rom

3. Boot to DOS

4. change to the register with BIOS files.

5. Write: WFFLASH.EXE NM A380U.rom

6. Your video cards bios will be updatet.

7. Restart your PC

8. You maybe need to re-install the Detonator/Forceware

Now, you habe a Leadtek Winfast A380 Ultra !
lots of good info in this thread: http://discuss.futuremark.com/forum/...fpart=1&vc= 1


Extra guide
http://www.3dchips.co.kr/main/gzrevi...&Page=1&no =1


As you already know, NVIDIA GeFORCE FX 5900 (simply “FX 5900”) and NVIDIA GeFORCE FX 5950 Ultra (simply FX 5950 UT) are actually the same model. Both of them uses the exactly same GPU core and they only has different level of power supplying systems and different GPU/MEMORY speed. (Different cooling solutions too) NVIDIA is used to lock the Bios Device ID in physical method from the way back. But 3DChips just have find a interesting fact that FX 5900 can be converted to FX 5950 UT by just simply replacing the BIOS data.

Here’s how it works. You can change the FX 5900’s Device ID:0331 to FX 5950 UT’s Device ID:0333. This means your FX 5900 can be changed to FX 5950 UT in physical way. This is one of the things that NVIDIA’s users envied about ATI’s users. This conversion uses original FX 5950 UT’s BIOS instead of any kind of so called “tuned-up” ones. You must do this at your own risk and must be cautious. We used Leadtek A380 Ultra’s original Bios. FX 5900 128MB & 5900 256M models worked properly and VIVO capability is not necessary.

Let’s convert a FX 5900 baby into a FX 5950 UT with no physical way that takes away your warranty~!!!

Amazingly, FX 5950 UT model is so pricier than FX 5900. $200 worth of difference is seriously no joke for most of people but the rich ones. Fortunately, you can save a lot of money if you use 3DChips’ bios mod and this’ll convince you to do so if you’re interest in better frame rates. It requires some fortune to successfully convert your baby into a badass. Your FX 5900 must be able to handle FX 5950 UT’s furious speed, or your attempt will be turn in to a failure.

The one we 3DChips tested is Leadtek GeFORCE-FX 5900 LX 128M. It’s not a normal one but the LX edition. NVIDIA's bios sets the memory speed automatically. (Auto detect) It means a BIOS for 128M model and 256M Model is eventually the same. There’s some peeps that says using the Bios for 256M edition can damage the card that uses 128M local Memory. But this ain’t an ATI’s Bios so don’t you worry about it.
VIVO model are safe as well.


How to update the bios-

1. Download the bios from 3DChips' download center.
2. Boot up your computer with your boot disk and safely back-up your original bios for just in case.
3. Type a:/nvflash -b original.rom and press ENTER key to store your original bios.
4. Type a:/nvflash -f n5950u.rom -u -p and press ENTER key to apply your new bios.
5. After you done all of them in order PROPERLY, restart you computer to apply the change you made.

As we told you from the start, the most important matter is the fact that your FX 5900 must be able to handle FX 5950 UT's clock speed. If your FX 5900 is able to do so, you'll save a lot of money by using it as FX 5900 UT. But you must keep it in mind that your FX 5900 must stay out of excessive heat and stay strong. You need to remember one thing. This is a kind of an overclocking method and you're responsible for any malfunction or permanent damage of your VGA. Please keep it in your mind and be careful. 128M model worked properly and 256M model did so as well. Unfortunately, we couldn't test a FX 5900 SE model because it wasn't available in our test lab, so we bag you a pardon.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th January 2004, 00:14   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

looks like this is the new way to go

did a flash from 9800pro to XT and it works to...
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 9th January 2004, 00:36   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,010
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

be sure to read through the whole guide & take a look at the discussion thread @ futuremark before flashing your videocard, risks are involved but if you take the needed steps there shouldn't be a problem

* back up your original BIOS
* get a spare PCI VGA card "just in case"
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th January 2004, 13:40   #5
Cyberz
 
Posts: n/a
hey guys....

does this work on MSI 5900 ?
 
Old 9th January 2004, 13:54   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,010
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

from what I have read on the Futuremark forums some could make it work while other had to recover their original bios with the help of a PCI video card.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th January 2004, 13:56   #7
Cyberz
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hmm...
thats not good enough...
 
Old 9th January 2004, 13:58   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,010
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
6 cards are known and tested to work. These brands are : Leadtek's 5900 series including the slower LX model, Gainward's 5900 series, Elsa 5900 series, Insight 5900 XQ series and Rex Technology 5900 series
pretty much says it all
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th January 2004, 14:02   #9
Cyberz
 
Posts: n/a
Default

to bad...
 
Old 9th January 2004, 14:49   #10
Cyberz
 
Posts: n/a
Default

never mind...
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair® Announces Updated Flash Voyager® GT Family jmke WebNews 0 14th October 2009 08:49
Corsair Launches 128Gb High Capacity USB Flash Drive jmke WebNews 0 13th August 2009 15:20
Corsair® Announces 16GB Flash Voyager® GT jmke WebNews 0 1st May 2009 11:17
Corsair announces Flash Voyager Port jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2009 19:15
Patriot Memory Releases 16GB microSDHC Flash Memory Card jmke WebNews 0 13th February 2009 15:15
Patriot Memory Announces Xporter Magnum 64GB USB Flash Drive jmke WebNews 0 31st October 2008 16:33
Corsair Introduces Flash Survivor - Rugged Usb 2.0 Flash Drive jmke WebNews 0 30th April 2007 15:09
Adtron Introduces 160Gb Solid State Flash Disk jmke WebNews 2 26th February 2007 00:49
Corsair Announces Immediate Availability of the New 16GB Flash Voyager USB Drives jmke WebNews 0 12th December 2006 12:04
FX5900 to Fx5950-U Bios Flash Anleck Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 24th April 2004 11:49

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO