It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects
the vapochill ls the vapochill ls
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


the vapochill ls
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th June 2004, 18:16   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default the vapochill ls

well.
first very preliminary thoughts...
1. it looks great, package is great.
2. installation is a bore especially first time around, prepping the cooling unit is a lot of work the first time around...
3. once installed and all little connections have been made (235054 connections more then a prommy mach1...), mine booted without any problem...

I just installed it on a ai7 + 3.2 I just purchased, put it at 4.1 ghz directly (randomly) and voltage at 1.7, and booted.
It's priming now, and looks stable with 100% load (prime + f@h) at this speed and voltage.
Temps?
dunno...mbm and other just crap along about 0°C cputemp
weirdly the chillcontrol doesn't show me any temps ....
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 19th June 2004, 19:48   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

mbm doesn't wanna show me any temps with multiple versions, same thing with hardware docot/abitEQ.

oh what the heck, I'll try it next weekend on my trusted 3.0 setup
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 19th June 2004, 20:48   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

nice.
to bad no temps.
4.1 is great, but try 4.2-4.3, your ram is not maxed out now
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 20th June 2004, 06:43   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

these overclocks are nuttin' special, I had 3.65ghz 24 months ago with my 2.66 and mach1 I've gained 500 mhz in two friggin' years, DUH!

I need something special.

what would be the best thing to combine with this vapochill to have the biggest gaming power? fx53 + socket 939?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 20th June 2004, 07:37   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

yep, if you remove one pin on that FX53, then it would work

A64 3200+ is something I would like to buy, but a newcastle, not a clawhammer.

but 4 ghz is enough to power that X800Pro.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 20th June 2004, 11:12   #6
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gamer
yep, if you remove one pin on that FX53, then it would work
The new FX53 has 939 pins, not 940. : )

It's indeed the most powerfull cpu one can get their hands on nowadays, but it costs an arm and a leg.

And why do you prefer a newcastle (2.2ghz 512kb l2) above a clawhammer (2ghz 1mb l2)? Most prefer the clawhammer, as they overclock +- the same while the clawhammer has more cache.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 20th June 2004, 13:51   #7
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i thought newcastle oced better then a clawhammer and because of that the difference between the cache dissappered
 
Old 20th June 2004, 14:37   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard
.. but it costs an arm and a leg.
.
I think herr doktor can arrange that
Patients enough, no?
BlackRabbit is offline  
Old 20th June 2004, 15:48   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

damn....
I sudeenly had a very weird sound, like a thump, something imploding.
mbm screen was up and showed as in the attachment, I took a screen of it. everything worked, and then one second later another thump like that, and everything went dead, the hdd lives, hooked it up to spare rig... the screen was still on there
vidcard, cpu, mem and mobo are all dead...
3.47 vcore, 3.5 vmem, and extreme overvolting on both +5v and +12v lines.
Something blew up?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 20th June 2004, 15:51   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

hmmm.. sounds familiar, does the Vapo still work?

Quote:
Man it didn't start out so well. About 15 minutes after I made this thread there was a bright flash and the vapo died. Turns out there is a fuse inside that blew, but it's an odd metric size that's 20mmx5mm 10A 250V and the only fuses with that rating around here are 1.25" long. I got a fuse holder form radio shack and I'm about to break out the soldering iron and make my own correction to the problem. Other than that(and it could have just been a faulty fuse or something) the vapo was doing extremely well.
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=106745
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VapoChill LS Overclocks Phenom II to 4.3Ghz jmke WebNews 2 20th January 2009 13:55
Asetek VapoChill Micro Extreme CPU Cooler Sidney WebNews 2 20th September 2005 10:15
asetek VapoChill Micro jmke On the TestBench - Work In Progress 1 8th August 2005 23:46
The powerful VapoChillŪ CPU cooler goes mainstream: VapoChill Micro jmke WebNews 5 8th March 2005 20:27
VapoChill Extreme Edition II 230V jmke On the TestBench - Work In Progress 17 2nd January 2005 21:20
VapoChill Extreme Edition II 230V released jmke WebNews 1 12th November 2004 19:03
Asetek VapoChill LightSpeed jmke WebNews 0 22nd June 2004 00:08
SUMMER 2004 MEGA VapoChill & WaterChill COMPETITION jmke WebNews 2 16th May 2004 11:57
VapoChill LightSpeed launched by Asetek jmke WebNews 8 12th March 2004 09:06
asetek launches NEW versatile Socket kit for VapoChill jmke WebNews 0 13th January 2004 11:24

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:27.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO