It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects
Simpele peltier upgrade voor waterkoeling Simpele peltier upgrade voor waterkoeling
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Simpele peltier upgrade voor waterkoeling
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th February 2010, 10:02   #1
Twose
 
Posts: n/a
Default Simpele peltier upgrade voor waterkoeling

I've been running WC for a while now, got a Core i7 960 and a HD5870 running in 1 loop with a 360 rad with Scythe Ultra Kaze 3000. It's cool but I need cooler.

Saw this company and the HME2009 fair in the netherlands where a company displayed their peltier cooling solution, their goal is to get peltier cooling to the masses by supplying an easy to mount peltier solution.

The only thing needed according to the company(MadMouse) is a 2nd pump and reservoir and ofcourse their unit. Power consumption isn't a problem, got a Silverstone Strider 1500Watt.

What are your thoughts on this thing, probablt going to get a 400Watt and 200Watt unit from them.
Attached Thumbnails
simpele-peltier-upgrade-voor-waterkoeling-tctkabel.jpg
 
Old 9th February 2010, 10:14   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

there are some commercial products which use peltier to increase cooling performance, like the CoolIT product series; in my experience they don't offer a better performance/noise ratio compared to air cooling;

adding them to your custom water loop might drop the water temp a few degrees, but in my humble opinion the consumed wattage and extra cost is too high; if you want an upgrade from your WC; go phase change; entry level units are ~€400 and they'll offer noticeably lower temps;

we had several forum members here who used phase change cooling on their 24/7 workstations for more than a year; so it can be used for daily computing.

in the end though, the question would be: why do you want to run that Core i7 960 at lower temperature? a higher overclock , even if you manage to squeeze out an extra 500Mhz, won't translate into a real-world performance boost.

I would rather invest that money to remove another bottleneck, install an SSD, if you already have on, get a second bigger one
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2010, 10:37   #3
Twose
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
there are some commercial products which use peltier to increase cooling performance, like the CoolIT product series; in my experience they don't offer a better performance/noise ratio compared to air cooling;

adding them to your custom water loop might drop the water temp a few degrees, but in my humble opinion the consumed wattage and extra cost is too high; if you want an upgrade from your WC; go phase change; entry level units are ~€400 and they'll offer noticeably lower temps;

we had several forum members here who used phase change cooling on their 24/7 workstations for more than a year; so it can be used for daily computing.

in the end though, the question would be: why do you want to run that Core i7 960 at lower temperature? a higher overclock , even if you manage to squeeze out an extra 500Mhz, won't translate into a real-world performance boost.

I would rather invest that money to remove another bottleneck, install an SSD, if you already have on, get a second bigger one
I have considered the Coolit solution, but it is custom enough. I would need 1 for my CPU AND 1 for my GPU, 2 product from them equal over 800 euros. so id be cheaper with the above solution. It will even give me the option if i decide to cool my chipset and RAM.

The same goed for phase change, 2 big units to cool everything, I want MAX cooling and MAX performance in 1 case.
 
Old 9th February 2010, 10:45   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Your GPU could use your current cooling setup, without the CPU in the loop, the temps will be quite low and you can easily OC and overvolt it; the GPU is not as hot as the CPU
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2010, 10:52   #5
Twose
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
Your GPU could use your current cooling setup, without the CPU in the loop, the temps will be quite low and you can easily OC and overvolt it; the GPU is not as hot as the CPU
The problem I've been facing isn't GPU Core temp related it's GPU voltera chip related, with my current OC of 1050MHz on the Core and some heavy stressing, the Voltera chips get around 90-100C with the Peltier setup I hope it will lower the temps to round-a-bout 70-80C giving me that little bit of extra headroom, especially with summer just around the block.
 
Old 9th February 2010, 10:54   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you'd need a water block that covers all those areas, or add a fan and heatsink to those voltera chips
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2010, 11:10   #7
Twose
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
you'd need a water block that covers all those areas, or add a fan and heatsink to those voltera chips
the EK-FC5870 is a fullcover block that cools the volterra chips, but those chips are sheer madness. My water temps are already near ambient temperatures. But I need lower, the easiest way seems via the unit I mentioned earlier.
 
Old 9th February 2010, 11:12   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

have you tried the loop with the CPU? Maybe you can get away with a high end heatsink for the CPU (TR IFX-14 or Noctua nh-d14)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2010, 11:15   #9
Twose
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
have you tried the loop with the CPU? Maybe you can get away with a high end heatsink for the CPU (TR IFX-14 or Noctua nh-d14)
Sorry I don't get what you're trying to say.
 
Old 9th February 2010, 12:09   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
got a Core i7 960 and a HD5870 running in 1 loop with a 360 rad with Scythe Ultra Kaze 3000
remove the water block from the CPU, see if your WC loop handles the heat of the HD 5870
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After Google "hack", Microsoft Urges People To Upgrade Away From XP/IE6 jmke WebNews 4 19th January 2010 16:53
Understanding Windows 7 upgrade paths jmke WebNews 0 6th September 2009 09:42
Super Talent Releases New Upgrade SSDs for Dell Inspiron Mini 9 jmke WebNews 0 29th May 2009 08:57
Preparing for Windows 7 with the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor jmke WebNews 0 8th May 2009 15:24
AMD Opteron™ Processor Upgrade Program Drives Faster Time to Benefit in the Data Cent jmke WebNews 0 7th April 2009 12:46
Upgrade from Windows XP to Windows 7... via Vista Trial jmke WebNews 0 24th February 2009 20:22
Windows 7 only has three viable upgrade paths jmke WebNews 0 12th February 2009 17:55
To upgrade or not to upgrade Makaveli7 General Madness - System Building Advice 0 21st August 2006 22:04
Ninja/Shogun with peltier PotLuck Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 8 23rd August 2005 19:45
Socket 423 to Socket 478 Upgrade Adapter jmke WebNews 5 10th June 2004 18:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO