It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects
IC7 MAX3 temp problem IC7 MAX3 temp problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


IC7 MAX3 temp problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th December 2003, 09:28   #1
Kubrat
 
Posts: n/a
Default IC7 MAX3 temp problem

I'm tottaly new to OC club, but I love fast machines so I decided to learn and ordered one:

IC7 Max3
2.8@800fsb stock speed
ThermalrightSP-94 / Vantec 92mm Tornado
Asus fx 5900 ultra 256
Corsair 1gb DDRAM 4000
2x120 WD raid 0
Antec 480w true power
Xaser III skull edition v3000

First time i put it together I used Thermaltake Spark 7+ and got cpu temp as high as 63C...i was stupid enough to put 2 heat sensors on the HS.
Changed it to the SP-94 beast, put a bit of Arctic Silver 5 and I still get high
(i think) temps. WinBond says: System 37C, CPU 55C, PWM 37C. Nothing but thermal paste b/n HS and CPU.

Vcore 1.46-7V, DDR 2.56V, the Vantec is spinning at 2700rpm. NB and SYS fans are almost
to the max on WinBond. Case is open all the time.
I'm running winamp, mozilla, emule and trillian...nothing fancy.

Is it me not doing something right or....? I'd really appreciate if you could give
me a hand here ICQ 14186977
 
Old 20th December 2003, 09:33   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

abit ic7 max 3 rates high and probably quite TRUE temps

comparing : using my powerfull WC-setup I got load temps on my 3.6 p4 of 32-34 at ambient 20 on a asus p4c800
with my abit ic7 max 3 same setup goes as high as 47C

SAME setup, SAME voltage
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 20th December 2003, 09:41   #3
Kubrat
 
Posts: n/a
Default interesting

hmm....that's interesting.
the abit forum have a lot of people saying the same stuff, but also a lot have normal temps.

plus SP-94 reviews say that to get the best out of one should OC.

i'll let the machine run for several days and see what happens. The paste should settle and that should give me several degrees.

thanks for replying
 
Old 20th December 2003, 12:45   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

"Vantec is spinning at 2700rpm"

63 -> 55 = 8C temp drop, quite good in my humble opinion
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 20th December 2003, 18:49   #5
Kubrat
 
Posts: n/a
Default re

true....8 degrees is a good drop, but still not good enough. and the cpu is not even loaded...

a lot of the guys at the Abit forum get normal cpu temps in the area of 30-40degrees. i guess i'm not gonna see these kind of temps
 
Old 21st December 2003, 01:15   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

different BIOS version give different temperature read-outs on the IC7.. *hint* *hint*
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st December 2003, 02:54   #7
Kubrat
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so u suggest I upgrade the bios?
 
Old 21st December 2003, 07:09   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
different BIOS version give different temperature read-outs on the IC7.. *hint* *hint*
Is this true?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 21st December 2003, 12:29   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

check the ABit forums
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st December 2003, 13:06   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

it reads differently but the temps are the same, I don't care bout temps any more, just need a rig that's stable, be it 25 or -25 or 65 degrees
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Temp 0.99.7.7 Released jmke WebNews 0 5th August 2010 18:25
P4 805 Oc same as the test but... problem Opcod Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 7 8th June 2006 16:56
Acer Aspire 1705SMi problem. Blackbyte Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 14th March 2006 17:09
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 14:33
problem with msn messenger [Bonbon] General Madness - System Building Advice 3 5th February 2004 10:15
Help needed: R9800pro problem FoRCe Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 13th January 2004 16:02
installing waterkoeling kills cpu temp sensor ? [Bonbon] Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 13 23rd October 2003 15:17
the 333mhz problem kipni Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 22nd May 2003 15:47
Asus P4G8X temp sensor prob ??? Pirre Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 5 31st March 2003 01:24
boot problem with abit th7-II The Senile Doctor Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 11th June 2002 00:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:55.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO