It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
Upgrade to Athlon 64 "Venice" - DFI NF4 Ultra D & 6200PCX Upgrade to Athlon 64 "Venice" - DFI NF4 Ultra D & 6200PCX
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Upgrade to Athlon 64 "Venice" - DFI NF4 Ultra D & 6200PCX
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th May 2005, 08:07   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Upgrade to Athlon 64 "Venice" - DFI NF4 Ultra D & 6200PCX

With AMD getting so much favorable attention in recent months, the only way to find out rather than reading all the reviews is to have one for yourself. Not that I no longer like the Northwood; with 64-bit OS on the horizon it may be time to acquire a 64-bit system which has and continues to receive fantastic comments from enthusiasts all over the world

http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=322
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2005, 18:38   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

A couple of unique features on DFI NF4 that I have come to enjoy; 1) the fan controller up to three fans and 2) Monitor program.

I don't know if all A64s are the same; the Venice temp drops instantly right after stress program or game. The combination makes it a quiet system.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 06:45   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Interesting memory temperatures -

The setup using SF609 with panel close, SF609 is powered by an external PSU.


Temp sensors taped on memory (1) top and (2) bottom.


Temp readings with and without active cooling on (1) top memory





Temp reading on (2)





The memory close to Heatsink runs cooler because it benefits from the exhaust air movement, while the memory on top runs hotter due to lack of air movement.

I always thought the hot air coming from the heatsink would make the memory close by hotter, in fact it lowers the temp. The room temp this early in the morning is only 20 C; I am sure the temp will go higher with higher ambient temp. The mem volt is 2.9 and running at 300 HTT.

I will do more when I could get my hands on more memories. Surprisingly, I was unable to run Primestable without active cooling unless I lower HTT to 270.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2005, 10:37   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

nice temp drops
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2005, 21:25   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Another nice story to write about ....

When I tried to hook up my new LCD display using DVI ... nothing happens .... VGA works fine, but DVI has no input signal to display or no output signal from graphic card.

Hook up the new display to another system; DVI works fine. Therefore, it is not the display fault. switching graphic cards also works with both DVI and VGA .... so, I was thinking the graphic card was bad (no output signal from DVI).

Since I hate returning thing ..... I switched the PCIe slot from the top one to the second one on the DFI board ....... everything works. I must have missed the instruction as to which the slot a single graphic card should be used. I found nothing.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2005, 22:18   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

My BH5@ 3.2V is about 25-30C with active 80mm cooling on top + good airflow in case.

What i am trying to do is make an airflow behind the motherboard to chill down the proc on the backplate since its gets very hot!(70C at stock)
But that something i am going to do after my schooltime.
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2005, 22:31   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

owh and about the review.
The psu rails on the first pic that seems to be low are not low if you measure it with a multimeter.
The smartgardian isn't the best reference for voltlines.

take these settings they are much better http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/show...highlight=MBM5
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2005, 22:38   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Assuming room temp 23C with only 5C above inside the case (panel closed) the base line already = 28C to start with.

25-30C temp is darn EXCELLENT !!

Regarding MBM5 and Smartguadian ...... as stated in the review if the same measurement is being used on two PSUs, it really doesn't matter if the measurement is running higher or low.

Apple to apple measurement .... that's why multi meter is used again for comparison. Regardless, the voltage rails were lowered in one of the PSUs, disregarding low/high versus bad/good.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2005, 22:47   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

well if you want almost exact temperature measurement you better be off with the mbm settings then smartgardian.

anyway my memory temp is if my fans are fully turned on (roomtemp 20-25C)
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2005, 22:47   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

The DVI connection versus the two PCIe slots was the point I wanted to make, so that users encounter similar issue be aware that it may not be the graphic card or Display fault.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AM2 + NF4 Platform, The Product Review of DFI Infinity ULTRA II-M2 windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 16th July 2006 03:27
DFI Infinity NF4 Ultra jmke WebNews 0 12th February 2006 15:07
DFI NF4 Ultra Infinity Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 10th February 2006 10:08
DFI Ultra LANParty UT nF4 Ultra-D jmke WebNews 0 8th December 2005 18:45
DFI Infinity NF4 Ultra Sidney WebNews 0 28th November 2005 14:19
New OC Legend - DFI nF4 SLI-DR EXPERT First Test windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 3 23rd November 2005 14:05
DFI NF4 Ultra Infinity Sidney WebNews 0 27th October 2005 05:56
DFI Infinity nF4 Ultra Sidney WebNews 0 18th October 2005 16:52
OCZ Announces PC-5000 Platinum DFI nF4 Special Series jmke WebNews 0 7th April 2005 12:03
DFI Answers to the Enthusiasts with Launch of LANParty NF4 SLI-DR and LANPartyUT NF4 jmke WebNews 4 4th January 2005 19:06

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO