It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
Gateway MT3705 Laptop CMOS reset, OS & CPU “Upgrade” Gateway MT3705 Laptop CMOS reset, OS & CPU “Upgrade”
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Gateway MT3705 Laptop CMOS reset, OS & CPU “Upgrade”
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd December 2007, 12:48   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Gateway MT3705 Laptop CMOS reset, OS & CPU “Upgrade”

We will go through CMOS reset from a mistake made in BIOS setting. Replacing Vista with Windows XP and how about upgrading the CPU while it is so inexpensive at eBay. Let´s call this a double “upgrade” and fixing a fatal BIOS mistake made..

http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=643
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 12:56   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
thorgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,887
thorgal Freshly Registered
Default

Love the review Sidney, keep it up
__________________



thorgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 14:01   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Glad you do. ty
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 18:33   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Do you think you could pin mod the CPU strapped at 133MHz?
geoffrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 18:50   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Should have ask earlier before I put the darn pieces back Or, I should have thought of it.

Next time when I could get another cheapo T7200 or T2400, although I am sure if the pin mod would work on 479 pin. It is at 166FSB now.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II

Last edited by Sidney : 3rd December 2007 at 18:55.
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 21:36   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

I'ts fun reading this review, Sidney, although it ain't motivating me to open my laptop to try the same
Massman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2007, 02:17   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Another reader wrote to me on the SD card reader, the TI driver works for him. Gateway now has posted TI 2.0.0.6 driver http://support.gateway.com/support/d...&param=1008547

However, MX3702 and MT3705 (the one I am using) are using Realtek. Gateway is using at least two vendors in both wireless PCI and USB card readers. Media card reader = Texas Intrument or Realtek; Wireless PCI = Broadcom or Realtek. Realtek support sucks insofar I know.

It still does not work here.

Quote:
I'ts fun reading this review, Sidney, although it ain't motivating me to open my laptop to try the same
I wouldn't have if not the BIOS issue.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II

Last edited by Sidney : 4th December 2007 at 05:18.
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 01:09   #8
whytewolfe
 
Posts: n/a
Default helpful hints

there are two settings in the bios that would help if you turned them on or up; first make sure your ram is running at the right speed, and second, change the hard drive 32bit bus on. that and powerstrip can oc the xpress 200m
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 23:38   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whytewolfe View Post
there are two settings in the bios that would help if you turned them on or up; first make sure your ram is running at the right speed, and second, change the hard drive 32bit bus on. that and powerstrip can oc the xpress 200m
Those were part of BIOS settings done at the getgo; like all overclocking checklist.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 00:49   #10
whytewolfe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

just asking because the only difference between what you got and what i get for 3d03 is only different by 18 marks(i have an ml3109, cel m520, 1gb ram 667mhz); about the only other thing that could account for the difference is the omega 7.12 drivers

ps.that 3d03 for the original cpu you had in the laptop
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 640UM Dual Core Laptop CPU, 1.2Ghz, Turbo: 2.26Ghz! jmke WebNews 0 2nd November 2009 13:40
CPU, VGA and Laptop Coolers At Cebit 2009 jmke Articles & Howto's 11 18th March 2009 22:41
[M] CPU, VGA and Laptop Coolers At Cebit 2009 jmke WebNews 1 10th March 2009 14:58
Lenovo ThinkPad W700, a Laptop with Intel Quad Core CPU, 8Gb Ram and 1gb VGA jmke WebNews 0 12th August 2008 13:59
OLPC XO Hacks: Overclocking an XO Laptop Geode LX 700 CPU jmke WebNews 0 27th March 2008 16:51
[M] Gateway MT3705 Laptop CMOS reset, OS & CPU “Upgrade” jmke WebNews 1 3rd December 2007 12:48
Gateway MT3705 Intel Duo Core Budget Laptop Review jmke Articles & Howto's 13 22nd November 2007 05:51
[M] Gateway MT3705 Intel Duo Core Budget Laptop Review jmke WebNews 0 2nd August 2007 18:34
de eerste keer cmos reset deronny General Madness - System Building Advice 3 3rd November 2002 19:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:34.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO