It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
Flash your Hercules 9800 to a 9800 Pro! Flash your Hercules 9800 to a 9800 Pro!
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Flash your Hercules 9800 to a 9800 Pro!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th September 2003, 14:59   #11
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

will this bios update work for ATI OEM cards??
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2003, 17:08   #12
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

so far Sapphire and Hercules have been confirmed to be working with this Flash.. no others though.. only if the PCB layout of the card is exactly the same, you might have a chance of it working.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2003, 18:05   #13
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i think yes because shaphire uses the same pcb as BBA cards

greezt
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2003, 21:25   #14
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Question: Are there any advantages to doing this vs just overcloking to Pro-frequencies "normally"? Ie. as a person with not a whole lot of extra money at the moment, do I have any reason to risk flashing over just overcloking the good old way?

Also, I've had trouble finding any discussions on whether or not this flash works how often. I've not found a single report on it not working, but have not had much success finding success reports either. Anyone care to give a link where I could enlighten myself or tell me something I don't know about the matter?

Thanks in Advance,

--Rams
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2003, 01:43   #15
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What really are the changements it involves ?

Does it imply an increase of heating of the card ?
Is the fan enough to contain the heat increase ?
Would it reduce the life of the card ?

What are the real dangers to put a 9800np to 9800p ?

Is it the same as a simple O/C ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2003, 12:23   #16
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Will this work with a non-hercule video card ? Because mine and hercule's have perhaps the same schema and components (Club3D).

Could this be harmless then ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2003, 18:26   #17
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

if your club3d has the same pcb as the hercules or shaphire or 9800pro it ( with offcourse the right memchips ) will flash,

and when you flash your card the memchips and core will get more voltage and so you will oc even higher

normally the cooling of an 9800np and a pro are the same so don't worry about that

and when your flash failes, re-flash it as said in the guide

greetz
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2003, 23:29   #18
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

some answers to the questions asked thanks to Short-Media
Quote:
Many people have asked me why they should bother with flashing their Radeon 9800 Non-Pro just to attain the Radeon 9800 Pro clock speeds? Couldn't they simply manually overclock their video adapter using Rage3D Tweak? The answer is both yes and no. Some video adapters have no problem reaching the Radeon 9800 Pro default clock speeds (380 Core / 340 DDR Memory) from the Radeon 9800 Non-Pro speeds (325 Core / 290 DDR Memory), in which case go right ahead and manually overclock your adapter. On the other hand, there are some adapters that benefit from the Radeon 9800 Pro BIOS being flashed onto them, as many video adapter enthusiasts believe that the Radeon 9800 Pro BIOS increases the voltage passed to the onboard memory chips slightly to help in attaining a higher memory overclock.


Hardware Required:

-> "Built By ATI" or OEM Radeon 9800 Non-Pro with Samsung 3.3, 3.0 or 2.8ns memory chips (NO INFINEON CHIPS)
-> PCI-based video adapter (for emergency BIOS restoration purposes only)
more info : http://www.short-media.com/forum/sho...&threadid=3327
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2003, 23:24   #19
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok, thank you guys. I'll take a look at the PCB inscriptions and try that...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2003, 18:28   #20
SpoBo
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I sure hope it'll be possible to flash your hercules 9800 pro to the XT
ontopic
Quote:
Is it the same as a simple O/C ?
Euh no it isn't it activates the 4 missing pipelines in your 3D card. And alters the cores a bit I guess.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[TK] Z-5300 THX 5.1 , Hercules 9800 @ Pro flash $T@CkDuMp Mad Bargains 0 27th April 2005 20:49
The Radeon 9800 Pro To Radeon 9800XT Mod Guide Rev. 6.0 Posted! Sidney WebNews 0 26th December 2004 15:54
Sapphire Offers to Replace RADEON 9800 PRO “128-bit Edition” jmke WebNews 0 17th June 2004 08:52
ATI's RADEON`TM' 9800 PRO Mac Special Edition Now Shipping Sidney WebNews 0 10th June 2004 19:04
RADEON 9800 PRO Gets Lower Speed Memory jmke WebNews 2 21st May 2004 17:28
Flash you're Radeon 9800 Non Pro to Pro version Insider Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 23 13th November 2003 14:23
Nieuwe Hercules 3D Prophet 9800 Pro PointerX Mad Bargains 1 2nd July 2003 17:33
Hercules Radeon 9500 Pro Falco Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 9 25th May 2003 10:56
VisionTek First to Deliver 9800 PRO 256MB jmke WebNews 0 14th May 2003 20:18
VisionTek moves to plastic packaging for its 9800 Pro product series. jmke WebNews 2 3rd May 2003 14:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:15.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO