It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
Chaintech 9CJS ZENITH Chaintech 9CJS ZENITH
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Chaintech 9CJS ZENITH
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd January 2004, 00:03   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Chaintech 9CJS ZENITH


Quote:
We take a closer look at Chaintech´s flagship P4 motherboard. Powered by the Intel 875 "Canterwood" Chipset it provides an excellent base for any performance P4 system. How does it stack up against the Asus P4C800 and what does "ZENITH" stand for? find it out in this review.
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=127
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2004, 00:28   #2
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Nice review! Good choice to use numbers instead of grafs.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2004, 10:20   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I had 12 graphs prepped.. but in the end it requires you to scroll through 4 pages, but it was as clear as "pure" numbers
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2004, 16:03   #4
Dave Matheson
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have bought this board and I have a problem that the board wiil power up but not boot up when cold but works perfect when warm. I see in the cbox3 picture you have your 2 wires for the sound ( the ribon ) and the multi colored wire opposite to mine , is this picture correct or is this just for showing the cbox.

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...&articID=12 7

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2004, 16:10   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the 2 wires are not for the sound, they should be attached to the WakeOnLan connector on your motherboard (low corner right), it probably is causing the boot-problem

the pic shown in the article is how I hooked it up (the cbox)
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2004, 14:58   #6
Dave Matheson
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for your fast response , I did not mean tha WOL , Sorry I didn`t explain clear. I meant the CN2 and CN6 . CN2 being the front sound and CN6 being the 80 port display. One connector is a rbon and the other is 9 varried color . Both of these connectors are missing one pin in the same location. These I have opposite to yours.

Thanks Dave
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2004, 14:50   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I reconnected the CBOX3 several times now for different PC setups (latest being in an Antec Overture) and I hooked it up the way shown in the picture,

the system boots up as soon as I press the power button without issue in this configuration. And after doing a soft-shutdown I can succesfully power up the system using the remote control.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 09:39   #8
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I ignored the manual's instructions and followed your pic and had problems. The FF on the right wasn't bolded and the sound wasn't working. After waiting several days I got the following reply from Chaintech support.

Quote:
You have the flat grey cable and the multi colored cable on opposite sides. Please have the flat grey cable hooked on up port 80 to CN25 of the motherboard and the multicolored wire to CN2 on the CBOC3 (audio) to CN24 on the motherboard. —Chaintech Support
Kerry
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 09:54   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I experienced no problems with the cables the other way around, put thanks for pointing this out though, I've updated the article!
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2004, 00:25   #10
IKilledMyAGOIA
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So the most common K7 chaintech problems didnt appear?

several friends of mine have all had similar problems regarding the board (funky things just like you described, Dave)

im glad to see that this board turned out very well
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra Zenith VE motherboard jmke WebNews 0 5th August 2005 15:08
Chaintech VNF4 Zenith VE Sidney WebNews 2 23rd July 2005 16:06
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra Zenith VE Sidney WebNews 1 29th June 2005 12:22
Chaintech Zenith 9CJS - BIOS Updates trebor1870 General Madness - System Building Advice 1 26th May 2005 21:32
Chaintech VNF4 Zenith Value Edition Sidney WebNews 0 24th May 2005 04:25
Chaintech Zenith VNF4 Ultra Sidney WebNews 0 28th April 2005 20:34
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra ZENITH VE Sidney WebNews 0 7th April 2005 22:28
CHAINTECH VNF4 ULTRA Zenith VE Available in stores jmke WebNews 2 22nd February 2005 13:52
Chaintech 9cjs and BIOS DOS setting for Symantec Ghost Kerry General Madness - System Building Advice 19 15th December 2004 21:33
Chaintech Zenith ZNF3-250 jmke WebNews 0 19th June 2004 11:33

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:45.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO