It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD nForce2 memory timings explored AMD nForce2 memory timings explored
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD nForce2 memory timings explored
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th March 2004, 16:57   #61
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I know piotke Just wanted to see if with these timings, the difference would increase a bit more... I like numbers

Seriously, I'm gonna test it too when I've modded my case... Maybe soon
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 18:42   #62
Deadeye
 
Posts: n/a
Which Memory?

Hiya,

Just read the article on nforce2 memory timings. I'm about to upgrade my system. I have a DFI LanParty NFII motherboard, and am intending to get an AMD XP2500 CPU and overclock up to 3200 speeds. This will mean running a 400Mhz FSB, so therefore need to upgrade my RAM to at least PC3200.

Reading the timing article, would seem that 2-2-11 are the timings I will want to be going for. However, can any recommend a good (and hopefully not too expensive) brand/model of memory which will run at these timings.
I don't mind having to buy a higher spec memory i.e. PC3700 or 4200 but seeing as i'm spending this cash on the upgrade, I just want to make sure I get it right first time!
Intending to put 1GB in the box, so am looking to 2x512MB chips. I'm not particularly bothered about them being matched pairs. Is this a mistake?

Also, i've seen articles saying that OCZ memory doesn't tend to run well in ADM systems. Can anyone explain this?

As you can probably tell, my knowledge on memory is not particularly great. So any help is gratefully appreciated!

Cheers

Deadeye
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 18:51   #63
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Don't buy higher memory. PC3700 and above, can handle High Mhz, but at sucky timings. (mostely cas 3)

You need low latency memory for the best performance.
The only ram I found that can do cas 2 2-2-5 or 2-2-11 is memory with winbond BH5 or BH chips. As these chips aren't produced any more, these sticks are very expensive now.

Currently I would recommend Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2 LL (low latency), these chips do cas 2 2-3-5. Or Corsair XMS PC3200 CAS 2 (doeing cas 2 3-3-5 I tought)

OR, you can buy Twinmos emory with "xxxx50B" chips.
On the left Winbond BH5, on the right the twinmos "xxx50B" 50D is crap memory.



Concerning OCZ memory, Don't know, I used PC3200 Rev 2.0, and these sticks worked fine overhere. Cas 2 2-3-5

I had a lot of memory up to now, what I can say is, that most cas 2.5 rated memory sticks PC3200 can do 200 Mhz with stronger timings, Cas 2 2-3-5 by example, they just eed a little more voltage (~2.8 Vddr)
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 18:56   #64
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

For nForceII platforms, timings are crucial, so, you better try to find BH-5 chips if you want heavy overclocking...

Brands: OCZ, Mushkin, Corsair... mostly

Btw, OCZ aren't causing trouble on nForceII mobos, I've got OCZ RAM (but I haven't got the occasion to test my setup, cos I'm waiting for some new waterccoling elements. Not easy to watercool if you don't have the hoses ), and it won't cause trouble (Other people have bought the same RAM and had no trouble).

About the matched pairs, don't worry, normal sticks will easily work together... The matched pairs only guarantee it'll work together at the given specs... But does it justify the price? Your call I'd say...
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 19:03   #65
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Strange, I can't edit my post

Well, I wanted to add: don't exceed PC3500
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 19:05   #66
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xploited Titan
Strange, I can't edit my post

Well, I wanted to add: don't exceed PC3500
Only corsair made pc3500 If i'm not mistaken, and guess what, these are super sticks, as they all have BH5 chips
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 19:09   #67
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I have PC3500 from Geil lying here..
http://www.geil.com.tw/portal/product_433_t_dc.php

@Xploited Titan: "Unregistered members & guests can post reply's to topics in this forum. No registration required! Registered members can also post and add attachments. No editing of posts allowed though."

http://www.madshrimps.be/forums/anno...p?s=&forumid=5
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 19:13   #68
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Nice looking sticks, didn't know there was other pc3500, must be recent ?

btw, I can edit ? Prolly because I'm not normal member
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2004, 19:34   #69
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Kingston HyperX has PC3500
OCZ has PC3500
Mushkin also... and so on
http://www.google.be/search?q=PC3500...-8&hl=fr&meta=


nice review of PC3500/PC3200 ram
http://www.ocprices.com/index.php?re...action=reviews
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 11:33   #70
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the help guys. Got a chance to get some cheap OCZ PC3500 EL memory, so i'll probably take that option as it reviewed well in the link jmke gave above.
Given that it won't do the ideal 2-2-11 timings. What would be the best suggested settings to try for?
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 10:26
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 17:17
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 21:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 10:33
AMD Turion 64 to Get Dual-Channel Memory, Second Core jmke WebNews 0 27th November 2005 18:14
GEIL to Present Memory Modules with CL1.5 Timings jmke WebNews 1 20th May 2005 11:46
AMD A64 S754 Memory timings explored on nForce3 150 jmke Articles & Howto's 10 18th April 2004 03:51
Amd Reports Fourth Quarter And Annual Results jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2004 15:47
AMD memory timings, the truth ! piotke On the TestBench - Work In Progress 6 2nd January 2004 21:20
INFO: Memory Timings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 18th May 2003 12:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO