It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD nForce2 memory timings explored AMD nForce2 memory timings explored
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD nForce2 memory timings explored
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd January 2004, 19:42   #11
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,684
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Intel timings explored a bit here: http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...&articID=13 0
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 22:35   #12
quarantaine
 
Posts: n/a
Default

bought mushkin pc3500 lvl 2 a while ago (2*256Mb) and it never worked good. (max stable +- 180)
i have lately seen people that have also troubles getting there fsb above 200mhz.
and my geil did +- 210 stable on the same board (till it was broke)

that sucks tbh , you buy seriously expensive ram and the performance goes down.
the question for me is know, downgrade on ram or upgrade on board(that dfi infinity looks cool) . damnit, oc'ing sometimes does suck (and is expensive)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 09:22   #13
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I got 2*512Mo DC BH-5 memory (I'm still waiting for my CPU however)...

But like the P4 setup, I shouldn't assume that the 2-2-2-11 timings are the fastest in Dual Channel, or did I understand wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 13:11   #14
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've found a little error in the article:

Quote:
The CPU was running at 2.2GHz (10 * 200 fsb), with the memory on a 1:1 divider. Meaning it was running also on 200 Mhz = synchronous.
10*200 != 2200


I have 2*256MB TwinMos pc3200 (BH-5) and an epox 8RDA+
Would 2-2-2-11 still be better than 2-2-2-5 in Dual Channel, or would it be different?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 13:57   #15
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cR00zIFI&gt;&lt;3r
I've found a little error in the article:
10*200 != 2200
edited, thanks
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 14:16   #16
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koensa
ras to cas is most imprortant mem speed factor,then CAS.

i've run 2 2 2 5 dcddr and 2 2 2 11dcddr,and sisoft gave me a 110mb increase
11 is ONLY!faster on nforce² platform.
What do you mean? is 2-2-2-11 DC still faster than 2-2-2-5 DC?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 14:21   #17
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,684
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yes.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 14:54   #18
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,684
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

thread title

"AMD nForce2 memory timings explored"

=D
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 15:42   #19
teki
 
Posts: n/a
Default

One more little question regarding a P4 setup:
I have 2*256 pc3200 ram running with a p4 2.6c

it currently runs smooth @231Fsb BUT! it is on a 5/4 divider, so the memory runs only @ 180fsb, however: when i place it higher for exampe on 240/190 something craps out immediately, is it the cheap ram? or a crappy p4c? mobo is Richbastards p4p800vm which ran over 300fsb so that shouldn't be a problem
PSU is only 365watt however...
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2004, 16:12   #20
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,684
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

hmmm

ram should be able to run @ 200Mhz with "normal" timings
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Turion 64 to Get Dual-Channel Memory, Second Core jmke WebNews 0 27th November 2005 17:14
GEIL to Present Memory Modules with CL1.5 Timings jmke WebNews 1 20th May 2005 10:46
AMD A64 S754 Memory timings explored on nForce3 150 jmke Articles & Howto's 10 18th April 2004 02:51
Amd Reports Fourth Quarter And Annual Results jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2004 14:47
AMD memory timings, the truth ! piotke On the TestBench - Work In Progress 6 2nd January 2004 20:20
INFO: Memory Timings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 18th May 2003 11:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:27.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO