It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD Duron Applebred vs. Athlon XP Thoroughbred AMD Duron Applebred vs. Athlon XP Thoroughbred
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Duron Applebred vs. Athlon XP Thoroughbred
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th October 2003, 22:23   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default AMD Duron Applebred vs. Athlon XP Thoroughbred

Piotke pits the Athlon XP TbredB against the newly introduced Duron Applebred



Quote:
Recently AMD introduced its new durons. I bought one of them, the 1.6 ghz version. The most interesting part of this cpu is its core voltage, only 1.5 V.
This cpu begged to be compared with an Athlon XP, dlt3c (known for reaching speeds up to 2700Mhz!). Is the new Duron an equally good overclocker ? Maybe even better ? Find out in this review.
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=106
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2003, 22:45   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 692
[Bonbon] Freshly Registered
Default

very well written review !
enjoyed reading it.
__________________
intelD820 (2*2.8), 1gb ram , 6600gt , lots of hdd
[Bonbon] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2003, 22:54   #3
the maniak
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nice review,
I expected the difference to be a little bit bigger, turns out the cache isn't that important voor AMD

but why didn't you mod the duron applebred so the full cache was restored? Like they did @ Overclockers.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2003, 23:13   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

It wasn't his Applebred + CPU was gone before the mod was released
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2003, 14:27   #5
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

J have K7S5A motherboard from ECS and my duron 1600 works with no vmod on 166 FSB which gives 2000MHz. On this setting every benchmark works well and there are no lockups.
Sandra 2004 results: multimedia: integer 18380 (XP2600+ 19080), float: 21064 (XP2600+19334)
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2003, 14:51   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that a pretty good bang-4-the-buck in my humble opinion
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2003, 18:23   #7
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
It wasn't his Applebred + CPU was gone before the mod was released
i have it now and will test it with h20 and will try the mod

i'll post it here when it is finished

greetz
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2003, 19:25   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
that a pretty good bang-4-the-buck in my humble opinion
that's an understatement
DUR0N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2003, 20:14   #9
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can this CPU run in a SMP system???
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2003, 20:54   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

presumably
check the 2cpu.com forums for more SMP info
DUR0N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
Price reductions on AMD Athlon X2, AMD Phenom X3 and AMD Phenom X4 desktop CPUs Massman WebNews 0 1st September 2008 10:34
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Athlon 64 X2 – AMD Dual-Core Desktop Chip’s Name jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2005 11:26
AMD Tests AMD Athlon 64 4200+ Chip with Partners jmke WebNews 0 9th March 2005 16:19
AMD Athlon 64 Processor Family Wins VARBusiness Magazine Editor's Choice Award Sidney WebNews 0 10th November 2004 19:22
AMD is Readying Athlon 64 2800+, Athlon 64 FX-53 jmke WebNews 0 10th March 2004 08:14
AMD to Unleash Athlon 64 FX-55 Processor in Q2/Q3? [UPDATED] jmke WebNews 0 5th March 2004 09:25
AMD to Unleash Athlon 64 FX-55 Processor in May? jmke WebNews 0 4th March 2004 10:01

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:30.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO