It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast' AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th October 2004, 01:37   #41
NoGodForMe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry about the broken link, I copied it instead of getting it from the actual page. For some reason, I can't edit messages after I post, it says I don't have access.
Anyway, the correct link is here.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=42687

I set the 2T timing to auto, but it didn't help. Still can't hit 2800 with the multiplier.
Then I tried OCing using the built in Asus % parameters, and it went up to 2639 at 10%. It sets the FSB at 220. Yes, I know it's called HHT, but in the Bios setup, it's still calls FSB.
So then I left the multiplier at 12 and started playing with the FSB. The highest I could go was 231 x 12 = 2772. So close to 2800, but just can't get there. Seems I have a regular chip compared to some of the lucky people who have OCed much more.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2004, 10:04   #42
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well, assuming you do have a fx-53 instead of an fx-55, I read on xs that only the later fx-53 could clock up to 3gig and more under phase-change. that's also probably why amd was able to bring out an fx-55 on 13 nm instead of the aticipated 9nm.

If I remember correctly, jnav86gt (sorry if it's spelled wrong ) had 3 fx-53's already and none of them even came close to the 3gig barrier.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2004, 13:19   #43
NoGodForMe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did more testing with Memtest and Prime95.
The highest I can OC the memory is 231mz FSB on the MB. Even if I adjust the multiplier and run (13 x 216 = 2808) it still doesn't work.

I might have a bad stick, because one fails Prime95 at 2225 timings right from the start. The other is still running as I'm here at work.

Many are buying the 3200XLPro for the tight 2225 timings.
Question, how high should the Corsair PC3200XLPro memory clock?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2004, 13:28   #44
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

at tight timings 210-220 , draw of luck
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2004, 18:12   #45
HitenMitsurugi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=616&pid=2332

and this apparantly appears true for all boards after some research. keep to the whole multipliers.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[M] AMD Athlon 3000+ Overclocking, going for 100% OC on Dry Ice jmke WebNews 0 6th May 2007 16:58
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (AM2) Overclocking Performance jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2006 11:13
AMD Athlon FX-57 Overclocking 3.54GHz with Phase Change jmke WebNews 0 15th July 2005 13:08
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ overclocking with high end air quest for 3GHz Sidney WebNews 0 11th June 2005 16:11
AMD Athlon 64 General Overclocking Guide jmke Articles & Howto's 3 26th May 2005 05:54
Dual-Core AMD Athlon 64 X2 Hits 3GHz Barrier jmke WebNews 0 17th May 2005 23:00
Overclocking the AMD ATHLON XP-M CPU jmke WebNews 3 9th December 2004 18:55
In-House: AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast' jmke WebNews 0 18th October 2004 14:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:39.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO