It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast' AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th October 2004, 18:58   #11
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

calantak,
Nice that you finally share with us your secret. took you awhile.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 19:05   #12
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if only he had to time; he'd beat Macci & Oppainter
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 20:11   #13
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

May be he doesn't want the world to know the 11.19 Volt reading. He took quite a few pain killing pills to get that over.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 21:17   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

nice article Calantak, your first ?
__________________
Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2004, 02:37   #15
bubbles
 
Posts: n/a
Default just waiting for the right chipset

I read the article and as soon as i saw the one 1280 graph i was thinking it's bandwidth locked, it seems like the cpu and gpu race is like a yo-yo as soon as one is locked by the other something comes along and bounces it back the other way.

Like in this case the paper launch is days a way, so you seemly have to run this test again with a the new nvidia dual pci-e card board hey if you going to spend 800 on cooling you may as well waste it on two 6800's 150% increase in gpu power should cover the 15 - 20 percent cpu increase.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2004, 04:20   #16
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
if only he had to time; he'd beat Macci & Oppainter
lol
those guys have unlimited $ and time to devote to benching it seems. Not to throw a wet towel on anyone's parade, but I remember when I had the #1 benchmark score in 3dmark2000. That was when GTS Geforce first came out and before volt modding and super cooling gpu's was needed to reach first page. Now it's all about throwing tons of $$$ into benches and of course the talent to tweak tweak tweak your way to the top.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2004, 08:47   #17
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JNav89GT
That was when GTS Geforce first came out and before volt modding and super cooling gpu's was needed to reach first page.
hehe, had a first page score too then, with a KT133A-board and a GeForce 2 GTS ... using a household ventilator blowing on an open case
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2004, 09:29   #18
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I got top score with GF1 DDR, 4400 with KT266A board
lasted only a few weeks
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2004, 08:53   #19
ec8or
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nice nice nice!! :niceone:

but why not benched with 3DMark 05? or am i missing sthg?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2004, 09:03   #20
[M] Reviewer
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

It isn't all about benchies .

...."avid gamer"...
__________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^\||____
|....The BEER TRUCK.... ||||'""|""\_,__
|___Just for You___l||__|__|___|) _____|
|(@)(@)""""""""""""**|(@)(@)****|(@)|
easypanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[M] AMD Athlon 3000+ Overclocking, going for 100% OC on Dry Ice jmke WebNews 0 6th May 2007 17:58
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (AM2) Overclocking Performance jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2006 12:13
AMD Athlon FX-57 Overclocking 3.54GHz with Phase Change jmke WebNews 0 15th July 2005 14:08
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ overclocking with high end air quest for 3GHz Sidney WebNews 0 11th June 2005 17:11
AMD Athlon 64 General Overclocking Guide jmke Articles & Howto's 3 26th May 2005 06:54
Dual-Core AMD Athlon 64 X2 Hits 3GHz Barrier jmke WebNews 0 18th May 2005 00:00
Overclocking the AMD ATHLON XP-M CPU jmke WebNews 3 9th December 2004 19:55
In-House: AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast' jmke WebNews 0 18th October 2004 15:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:42.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO