It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast' AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th October 2004, 13:52   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,716
jmke has disabled reputation
Default AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast'

This setup has all the bragging rights available, but is it actually worth its extreme price? Does buying an 800 euro cooling for your CPU improve your gaming experience? Do we need a 3Ghz FX? Find out in this overclocking extravaganza!

http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=231
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 14:14   #2
OCTB Crew
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default


whats the score @ superpi
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 15:23   #3
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

one gaming benchmarks results are flipped with stock FX whipping the oc'd one. Yet states 16% increase. I think the numbers got transposed.

Otherwise good read.

Not sure if you did this. But did you oc the vid card at all? That would better highlight performance potential.

BTW I'm envy. I've had 2 FX53's 939 and neither would do 3ghz
, I'm on #3 now. Got it from Oppainter so this one should be ok, I think probably 3050-3100 when my Prommy's get back from modding
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:01   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

I plan to do a rerun in the near future with an overclocked vidcard with the peltier.
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:03   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
The high-end GPU-market is NOT ready for a 3Ghz Athlon FX.
Does this apply to P4 @ 4GHz? Just to know your "educated" guess.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:08   #6
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

IMO the FX will be alot more GPU bound than the P4. The FX will push better framerates than that 4Ghz P4, but is held back alot as well due to GPU's not keeping up. At least in the overclocked setting.

I think once Calantak gets a good board that he can scale the HTT bus on he will see ALOT better results as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:17   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
3GHz OCd AthlonFX:
While trying to create the ultimate gaming PC, those crazy crustaceans overclocked an FX-53 to 3GHz. As one might imagine, it took the cooling power of a VapoChill to pull off the FX-53 OC. Was it all worth it? Find out:
[H]
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:50   #8
NoGodForMe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Great Article.

Looks like the GPU is the limiting factor.

I have a very similar system with a Koolance.

I haven't got to OCing yet, just done the 3dMark benchmarks at stock. The positive to the Koolance, is that the system runs quiet. I'm hoping for 2.6 once I OC.

Eventually I get to OCing, but I'm still trying to get SP2 to work with my tape drive. NovaBack just gave me more ideas, so it's time for another format.

http://www.nogodforme.com/MyBabyTera.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:56   #9
agent #2
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice overclock. Good article.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2004, 16:58   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,716
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JNav89GT
one gaming benchmarks results are flipped with stock FX whipping the oc'd one. Yet states 16% increase. I think the numbers got transposed.
ah . must have mis-made that one, darnit! will fix it first thing in the morning tommorow; don't have the source file here @ home
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[M] AMD Athlon 3000+ Overclocking, going for 100% OC on Dry Ice jmke WebNews 0 6th May 2007 16:58
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (AM2) Overclocking Performance jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2006 11:13
AMD Athlon FX-57 Overclocking 3.54GHz with Phase Change jmke WebNews 0 15th July 2005 13:08
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ overclocking with high end air quest for 3GHz Sidney WebNews 0 11th June 2005 16:11
AMD Athlon 64 General Overclocking Guide jmke Articles & Howto's 3 26th May 2005 05:54
Dual-Core AMD Athlon 64 X2 Hits 3GHz Barrier jmke WebNews 0 17th May 2005 23:00
Overclocking the AMD ATHLON XP-M CPU jmke WebNews 3 9th December 2004 18:55
In-House: AMD Athlon FX overclocking to 3Ghz: Creating a 'Gamebeast' jmke WebNews 0 18th October 2004 14:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:18.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO