It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
4Ghz CPU Power - Overclocking the P4 4Ghz CPU Power - Overclocking the P4
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


4Ghz CPU Power - Overclocking the P4
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th May 2003, 20:34   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default 4Ghz CPU Power - Overclocking the P4


Quote:
We take a brand new Pentium 4 3ghz with a 800Mhz FSB, put it into the ASUS P4C800 and hook it all up to a Prometeia system. How does it perform in everyday applications? Find out in this article on future CPU power
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=76


Benches by Gamer
Article by JMke

jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2003, 21:07   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

nice one JMke,
thx for the help
__________________
Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2003, 21:12   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

cooperation kicks ***
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2003, 21:35   #4
B|oweFish
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
The SuperPi benchmark favours the AMD's FPU and for Intel to come on par you really have to push both the CPU and memory to the maximum: lets see how our P4@4ghz handles it
Doesn't it has to be CPU instead of FPU ? Don't shoot meh if i'm wrong ^^

Great article
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2003, 21:37   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

nope, FPU = Floating Point Unit

Quote:
An floating point unit (FPU), also known as a numeric coprocessor, is a microprocessor or special circuitry in a more general microprocessor that manipulates numbers more quickly than the basic microprocessor your computer uses. It does so by having a special set of instructions that focus entirely on large mathematical operations. A floating point unit is often built into today's personal computers, but it is needed only for special applications such as graphic image processing or display. Personal computers that don't have floating point units can sometimes handle software that requires them by installing a floating point emulator.
Floating point numbers are numbers that are carried out to a certain decimal position (such as 2.17986). They are stored in three parts: the sign (plus or minus), the significant or mantissa which is the digits that are meaningful, and the exponent or order of magnititude of the significant, which determines the place to which the decimal point floats. Floating point numbers are binary (expressed in powers of 2).
http://searchwin2000.techtarget.com/...213965,00.html


AMD's FPU has been better then Intel's since the first Athlon K7 was released
before that the AMD K6 was beaten by the PII and PIII

that's why the AMD's are better at SuperPi and Folding@Home: a better numeric coprocessor, good with numbers
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2003, 21:40   #6
B|oweFish
 
Posts: n/a
Default

didn't knew that one

thnx for teh info
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2003, 03:26   #7
Pedro Rocha
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 4Ghz CPU Power - Overclocking the P4

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke


http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=76


Benches by Gamer
Article by JMke

Doesn't your Asus P4C800 gives problems with Prometeia?

In my case the board gave and eror on boot process, seems can't take the reset pressed for a long time - until Prometeia reachs -33c ..
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2003, 06:42   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

yep, same problem.
any idea how to fix this ?
__________________
Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2003, 11:19   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Pedro Rocha

Welcome to the forum !
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2003, 03:02   #10
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i am going to do something loike this on my new rig i'm building, i will have all the parts in by june, i am getting an apoen motherboard, the limit is 1600MHz FSB i am going to try to overclock as much as possible if it reaches 400MHz (1600MHz) them i will be running at 6Ghz , sum how i dought i will go that high thou.... maybe 5GHz....
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LN2 Overclocking At Alternate Hello 8Ghz CPU! jmke Articles & Howto's 29 23rd June 2009 12:53
AMD Phenom II X4 995 (AM3) CPU Overclocked to 4Ghz on Air Cooling jmke WebNews 0 15th March 2009 10:13
Overclocking the G0 SLACR Q6600 to 4GHz Sidney WebNews 7 19th August 2007 18:36
Intel CPU Power Delivery Design Guidelines and Specs: Vdroop Explained thorgal WebNews 0 20th February 2007 10:48
Clever Power VGA Booster and CPU Stabilizer Review jmke Articles & Howto's 4 2nd September 2006 11:42
The Quest for More Processing Power, Part One: "Is the single core CPU doomed?" jmke WebNews 1 10th February 2005 15:55
Multi-OS Cell CPU tops 4GHz jmke WebNews 0 8th February 2005 10:39
Overclocking K7SOM+ with XP2000+ Pro CPU olingphilo Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 9 19th May 2004 14:34
INFO: Motherboard, Memory, & CPU Overclocking Guide deeppow FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 3 16th November 2003 00:46
wasted cpu power : welk project ? Gamer Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 96 3rd October 2002 08:13

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO