It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
2Mb and 8Mb cache size on HDs tested in RAID 2Mb and 8Mb cache size on HDs tested in RAID
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


2Mb and 8Mb cache size on HDs tested in RAID
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th February 2004, 22:18   #21
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so where do you keep your windows partition and your paging file partition?

On the raid disks or on the non-raid disk?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 23:14   #22
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

paging and windows on the RAID disk, ghost image of Windows install on CD/backupHD
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 23:19   #23
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'd like to have a RAID setup, too bad it's not affordable. and then you have spent e.g. 150 on 2 80GB drives. it's faster but not very reliable :/

buying 2 20GB drives would be perfect, but those drives are slower and make a LOT of noise :/

isn't there an other way to speed up HD acces, e.g. like using the faster, outer rings of HDD's to store windows/games, and the slower, inner rings for movies/music/etc. ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 23:24   #24
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

it's called defrag
OODefrag can move most used files to the beginning the disk for faster access.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 23:53   #25
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
it's called defrag
OODefrag can move most used files to the beginning the disk for faster access.
sure, but how does that work with different partitions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 23:55   #26
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

don't use partitions, no advantage.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2004, 00:03   #27
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have to use partitions, check my HDD

in a HDD there are multiple platters, isn't it possible to optimize your partitions for this?

platter1: first winxp, then win2000, then a piece of the archive
platter2: user files and games
platter3: linux + rest of archive

I guess not
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2004, 00:03   #28
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

HDD layout:
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2004, 15:13   #29
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
don't use partitions, no advantage.
tweak xp mentioned that the best place to put your paging file is on the first partition because in theory, windows is supposed to put the first data on the fastest reachable spot on the platters (I thought it was on the inner side of the platters but since TeuS says it's on the outer side I'll go with that ), offcourse, this is windows so it's very well possible that the first partition won't be on the fastest reachable spot on the platters.

I don't know if this still works with two disks in RAID 0 though :?
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2004, 15:42   #30
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it should be the same with raid
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2Mb and 8Mb cache size on HDs tested in RAID Sarcastro WebNews 1 15th June 2003 01:43

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:01.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO