It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home
i can't fold :-( i can't fold :-(
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


i can't fold :-(
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th June 2003, 18:25   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

First console, than "visual version" on 1 comp. It's normal that you do not get the setup ... you already filled in the necessary info in the client.cfg-file while running the console the first time.

Check your client.cfg

Gimme a Pr Scr of your "visual-version" while it is running.

You say the console version makes a mistake ... WHAT mistake ?

I would just delete everything folding-related and start over.

PS: It's handy to give us the content of the fahlog - file when having an error.
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 10th June 2003, 18:31   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koensa
do you see my fathers pc foldingŁ?
I have many talents and i've seen your sister doing some wild stuff ... but i can't "see" your fathers' pc folding

Don't find the folder ? search "fahlog"

That file has all the info you want.
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 10th June 2003, 18:52   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

It works !
IE settings = OK

If you shutdown your PC ... does it continue to work then ?
If you shutdown the console version ... does it continue to work then ?

Now go and buy yourself a new keyboard
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 10th June 2003, 19:06   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koensa
neen eenmaal ik op het X druk (om af te sluiten) keert mn idle precent terug naar 99.
You are joking aaight ?
You shutdown a program ... and it stops ...

Exactly HOW hot is it in your room ?

Quote:
Originally posted by koensa
maar ik zit nu nog altijd aan 0 van de 50000 terwijl mn vaders (celie1000) al na 15 mins 1 had...en ik met mn xp@1944mhz nog niets heb....
You fold : you get points
You manually shut down a program and it stops : no points here

You'll appear in the rankings as soon as you have FINISHED ONE wu ... that means: completed the 50.000 cycles you mentioned.
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 11th June 2003, 04:44   #5
ViNcE
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bosw8er


You are joking aaight ?
You shutdown a program ... and it stops ...

Exactly HOW hot is it in your room ?



You fold : you get points
You manually shut down a program and it stops : no points here

You'll appear in the rankings as soon as you have FINISHED ONE wu ... that means: completed the 50.000 cycles you mentioned.


but still thx for joining the team
 
Old 11th June 2003, 07:16   #6
MTfreak
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This might seem stupid but can somebody tell me what folding is?
I have no clue what I should think of that.
Is it some kind of benchmark tool?
 
Old 11th June 2003, 07:33   #7
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MTfreak
This might seem stupid but can somebody tell me what folding is?
I have no clue what I should think of that.
Is it some kind of benchmark tool?
Quote:
What does Folding@Home do? Folding@Home is a distributed computing project which studies protein folding, misfolding, aggregation, and related diseases. We use novel computational methods and large scale distributed computing, to simulate timescales thousands to millions of times longer than previously achieved. This has allowed us to simulate folding for the first time, and to now direct our approach to examine folding related disease.
http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/


Basicly, folding is running a little app in the background, that uses your unused cpupower for a good cause.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Ups Holographic Storage Speed More Than 30 Fold jmke WebNews 0 31st May 2007 17:41
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 can fold too jmke WebNews 0 19th November 2006 22:34
Fold ! Bosw8er Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 254 28th August 2006 11:21
how good would a barton 2500 fold? shray Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 1 2nd April 2003 13:48
could this fold some? The Senile Doctor Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 13 23rd January 2003 14:09
How to fold on Offline PC's The Senile Doctor Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 17 9th January 2003 20:19

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO