It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home
Folding Farms Folding Farms
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Folding Farms
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th November 2002, 22:26   #1
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default Folding farms

Imagine you had a budget of a €1000, how would you spend it to build a folding farm?

VIA C3 procs are slow, but you can't beat the price!
My first attempt: VIA C3 all-in solutions with 128mb sdr ram. Folding doesn't use much mem, so I think 128mb is enough.

+ SNOGARD® K7-M787 CLR, INCL. VIA 1Giga PRO CPU und KÜHLER, LAN, SOUND, VGA onboard, ATX 79.90 EUR
+ 128MB-SDRAM, PC-133, 7ns, OEM 15,90 EUR
+ recycled PSU 0 eur
+ old floppy 0 eur
=> 86 eur a piece

Folding rigs: 10*86 => €860
Home-mad alu rack with plexi front: 20 + 8 => €28
4*120mm silent papst to cool the whole thing down: 4*21= €84
cheap keyb & mouse => €10
Old 14" CRT => 20 eur
Grand total: 1002 eur.

How would you build your Folding farm? Cheap durons? Affordable 2000+'s? Or just 2 killer P4's? Let your imagination go wild!
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:00   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

I would just place an add :

"I'll buy your old mobo + cpu + memory + graphic card + floppy + PSU. Must be PII300 and up and at least 64MB RAM. You can keep the case + cdrom + hd if you want."

.... and see what comes in

Don't know the performance of a via 1ghz, how quick does it fold ?
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:04   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Hmmmm... no idea whatsoever. It must be quicker than a P3 sub 500Mhz... no? So it must be better price/performance wise.... i think.

This would be a far less destructive ans more usefull hobby than hardcore overclocking. = D

Edit:
Hmm... according to Sisoft, a VIA C3 1Ghz performs less than a P3 500Mhz, and a bit more than a P2 400Mhz. Damn that's slow. :wtf:

An XP2000+ is 4x as fast, but not 4x as expensive. Oh well, i'm just dreaming.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:09   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Bosw8er is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:24   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,738
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

1 GigaPro != VIA C3 as far as I know
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:31   #6
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

VIA C3 is the only available product they have for the moment... i can't imagine what else this would be.

They'll prolly mean it uses the PROsavage chipset from via.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:35   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

http://www.pcchips.com.tw/M787CLR.html

gigapro 1ghz = 733 mhz C3
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:38   #8
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

How do you derive that out of that link? ???

I can't find "733 mhz C3" anywhere?
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:43   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard
How do you derive that out of that link? ???

I can't find "733 mhz C3" anywhere?
http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/akiba.../1gigapro.html

There are several other googlelinks with the same 733 mhz in the title ... the one posted being the most nerdish :^)
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 1st December 2002, 00:48   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,738
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

1GigaPro is very , uhm , confusing, since it is NOT a 1ghz CPU at all!



UPDATE: Beim aufgelöteten Prozessor handelt es sich mitnichten um einen 1GHz-Prozessor. Vielmehr ist es ein 667 bzw. 733MHz Samuel 2. Die verwirrende Bezeichnung 1Giga Pro wurde vermutlich vom Hersteller des Boards (PC Chips) zum Kundenfang gewählt.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
51-card NVIDIA folding rig can crank out 265,200 points / day jmke WebNews 5 14th August 2008 05:50
Folding sig wutske Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 2 22nd May 2005 15:58
Madshrimps Folding team reaches 1.000.000 ! jmke WebNews 7 23rd November 2004 20:54
Folding giveaway: Gigabyte GA-SINXP1394 mobo ctgilles Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 80 13th November 2004 19:00
Folding causing screen freezes? Roswell Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 4 18th October 2003 23:43
linux + folding + AMD? TeuS Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 1 14th June 2003 12:31
Xtreme Systems Folding Team reaches two million point milestone! silencer Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 3 10th June 2003 19:14
Weird folding WU Jay-Jay Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 10 26th January 2003 12:39

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO