It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > [M] Overclocking Team > General OC-Team Forum
PC chips M590 voltage modifications PC chips M590 voltage modifications
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


PC chips M590 voltage modifications
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th May 2008, 16:40   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default PC chips M590 voltage modifications

PC chips M590



- 2-168pin DIMM slot (4/8/16/32/64/128/256meg SDRAM pc-66/100)
- Embedded 64 bit 3D AGP Graphics Accelerator with 4/8MB frame buffer
- 1024K Onboard Pipelined Burst synchronous L2 cache
- PC100 / SiS 5591 Pentium chipset
- 321pin ZIF socket 7 which supports these processors:
INTEL Pentium 90~350MHz P54C, P55C MMX
Cyrix/IBM 6x86/6x86L/6x86MX/MII, IDT C6,and AMD K5/K6/K6-2 CPUs
- Supports 60/66/75/83/100 MHz external clock speeds
- onboard 3D sound pro
__________________


Last edited by geoffrey : 14th August 2008 at 16:27.
geoffrey is offline  
Old 11th May 2008, 17:46   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Locate the K34063A IC.



CLK
Clock input. Provides fundamental timing for the processor.

BF0-2
Bus Frequency clock multiplier (bus to core frequency ratio).
1.5x and 2.0x when only BF0 is present.
1.5x, 2.0x, 2.5x, and 3.0x when BF0 and BF1 are present.
2.0x, 2.5x, 3.0x, 3.5x, 4.0x, 4.5x, 5.0x, and 5.5x when BF0, BF1, and BF2 are present.
[ Note: What multipliers are available is entirely dependent on the processor itself. ]
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vcore mod.jpg (147.3 KB, 140 views)
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 11th May 2008, 20:31   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Using AMD K6 350MHz, I can choose following FSB settings:
60MHz
66MHz
83MHz
75MHz
100MHz

Multipliers:
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5
5.5

Unfortunately there is a glitch in the BIOS, when using the 100MHz FSB setting I noticed how the multipliers settings did not match with what is applied in real life. Using multi 5 whould set the multiplier to 4.5 in real life. This happens only when using the 100MHz FSB settings, for the whole range of available multi's. Downside is that the highest I can set my CPU at is 500MHz (100x5.5), which is just barely higher then 85x5.5 (470MHz CPU).
Record is at 550MHz for now, I know I can easily hit that speed if the mainboard would not have the glitch.

I noticed how the ASUS P5A allows up to 120MHz FSB, this would bring me at 600MHz. Might require phase change cooling though.

I really need own PLL for CPU.

EDIT: might want to check out this: http://www.unixload.de/netvista/
__________________


Last edited by geoffrey : 11th May 2008 at 20:34.
geoffrey is offline  
Old 11th May 2008, 23:29   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Excellent, I have the same motherboard lying around, I have the Asus P5A as well and have another board coming to me from germany.

Revival of the K6!!
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 12th May 2008, 14:57   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

500MHz boot:
http://www.hwbot.org/result.do?resultId=734683
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 12th May 2008, 15:21   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

don't pollute the HWbot
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th May 2008, 17:59   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

What, no valid entry? Others do it too, no penalty for them?
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 17th May 2008, 16:06   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Pentium 1 166MHz MMX Test



Stock: 66MHz FSB x 2,5 multiplier = 166MHz

Test results:
100MHz FSB x 2x multiplier = boot, nice: CPU will like the bandwidth
100Mhz x 2,5 = boot
100Mhz x 3 = boot
100Mhz x 4 = boot
100Mhz x 5 = boot
100Mhz x 5,5 = boot ....... wait a minute, is that even possible????


For the 100MHz x 5,5 (550MHz) I had to increase CPU voltage up to 3,4V, but considering it is aircooled I began to question if that was even possible. That's more then triple its original speed... So, I let it boot into windows, there I noticed that the CPU speed is at only 314MHz (windows system readout).

In real life I don't think that the clock speed shown at system boot is not correct, to far beyond specs and others seem to hit only around 300MHz using same type of cooling. Hwbot scores: http://www.hwbot.org/quickSearch.do?...66Mhz+%2874%29

Still good enough for me to get the gold medals, only have to get the USB interface working so that I can start installing software. I only wonder where all these verifications files went to, almost no entry has a picture included


Anyway, I think this is a very good example why you should not accept system boot screenshots
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 18th May 2008, 04:35   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

promising bootup OC, indeed unbelievable clocks on air; too bad it didn't last until windows

CPU-Z ranking is CPU-Z ranking

what do you mean with

Quote:
I only wonder where all these verifications files went to, almost no entry has a picture included
?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th May 2008, 12:38   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
what do you mean with

?
Never mind, can see them now
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 Voltage Modifications jmke WebNews 0 11th April 2010 14:56
Hot Chips: Intel's dual-core Pentium 4 a rush job jmke WebNews 1 18th August 2005 21:32
INFO: RAM List: What Chips on what Memory jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 3 23rd April 2005 18:13
OCZ Announces EL PC-3200 Voltage eXtreme Gold Edition jmke WebNews 5 31st December 2004 12:26
AMD’s 90nm Chips Dissipate 67W, Claims AMD jmke WebNews 1 25th October 2004 02:40
ATI Technologies Readies New R430, RV410 Graphics Chips jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2004 10:00
ATI Technologies Readies New R430, RV410 Graphics Chips Sidney WebNews 0 8th July 2004 20:17
AMD Reaches Performance Everest with New 64-bit Chips jmke WebNews 0 1st June 2004 15:01
AMD Targets to Counter Strike Intel with Dual-Core Chips in 2005 jmke WebNews 0 23rd May 2004 10:50
University Develops Ion Cooling Device: Nano-Lightning to Cool Future Chips jmke WebNews 0 29th March 2004 08:59

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO