It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > [M] Overclocking Team > General OC-Team Forum
Gigabyte GA-5AX Rev3.0 to Rev5.1 - The road to K6 victory Gigabyte GA-5AX Rev3.0 to Rev5.1 - The road to K6 victory
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Gigabyte GA-5AX Rev3.0 to Rev5.1 - The road to K6 victory
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th May 2008, 15:18   #11
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Haven't found a large picture of a rev5.2 board yet, but, as the JP9 is present and connected (two pins are soldered together), it should be possible to cut that connection and change it with jumpers to hit 135MHz, no?
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 15:33   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,118
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

It should be possible to replace it with some kind of jumper, no problem, but it is not being said that it will then be able hit more then 100MHz FSB. Can you use rev5.2 BIOS?
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 15:40   #13
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

The bios has nothing to do with settings FSB mhz, the fsb is set by those jumpers and cannot be set in the bios.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 17:16   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,118
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

FSB cannot be set via BIOS? Even the pcchips board could do that
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 18:00   #15
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

P5A can't, 5AX can't and those two boards are noticably better than the PCCHips

What does this say about the modifications?
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 18:51   #16
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,118
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

If you could use BIOS of the rev5 board, you would not need the extra jumper, and looking at the ICS 9148BF-36 datasheet it seems that the PLL can only have 3 jumpers as these are the only the frequency select bits. I guess you need to continue your hunt for rev5 boards.
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 19:19   #17
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

What's with you and the bios? Are you having an affair behind my back???


The only difference between Rev3 and Rev5.2 is that JP10. Nothing else, the bios is exactly the same!

Rev3: JP7 and JP8 (and JP9)
Rev5: JP7, JP8, JP9 and JP10.

Look at the picture of JP9. Can't I just cut that connection and add a jumper on the three soldering points? If yes, I already have 135MHz fsb.

JP10 just isn't visible on the Rev3 board.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 19:56   #18
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,118
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

I think you did not understand me too well. rev3 uses the ICS 9148BF-36 PLL which has only 3 FSB frequency select pins, and so that's the reason why there probable ain't JP10 viewable on your board, because the PLL can't use it! The rev5.2 board has 4 frequency select pins so I'm wondering if they both use the same PLL. You say they do, but I'm just not so sure.

Anyway, you should start with cutting the JP9 jumper and wee what happens. You can easily make a jumper at that spot, if you don't have a spare one then just take 3 wires which you can bind together, electrically its the same
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 20:37   #19
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Hmm, I'll try to figure out whether it uses the same PLL or not.

But what does the Bios of rev5 have to do with all this?
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 20:56   #20
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

I can find multiple 5AX boards in ebay, would it help to buy several if you ever intend to try to make a turboPLL?
__________________
Massman is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE Announces GO OC 2010 Worldwide Final jmke WebNews 0 10th August 2010 13:14
USB-IF Certifies Multiple GIGABYTE SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Motherboards jmke WebNews 0 3rd March 2010 08:45
GIGABYTE wants the best overclockers - Intel P55 OC Challenge jmke WebNews 0 2nd March 2010 10:02
GIGABYTE Launches H55 & H57 Series Motherboards with USB 3.0 and DisplayPort jmke WebNews 0 8th January 2010 08:58
GIGABYTE Launches Industry’s First USB 3.0, SATA 6Gbps Solution on AMD Platform jmke WebNews 0 26th November 2009 09:13
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 featuring 333 Onboard Acceleration, 3-Way SLI™ and CrossFireX jmke WebNews 0 18th November 2009 11:00
GIGABYTE Announces New P55A-series Motherboards jmke WebNews 0 2nd November 2009 10:19
GIGABYTE Launches Complete Range of 785G Series Motherboards jmke WebNews 0 6th August 2009 13:16
GIGABYTE Launches Latest Ultra Durable VGA Card GV-N275UD-896H (GTX 275) jmke WebNews 0 22nd April 2009 15:29
Gigabyte Overclocking Contest To Launch 25th September jmke WebNews 1 19th September 2008 21:07

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:54.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO