It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > [M] Overclocking Team > General OC-Team Forum
[GD70] - AM3 and DDR3, time to apply DDR2 timings. [GD70] - AM3 and DDR3, time to apply DDR2 timings.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


[GD70] - AM3 and DDR3, time to apply DDR2 timings.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th May 2009, 21:34   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default [GD70] - AM3 and DDR3, time to apply DDR2 timings.

I really want to explain this title more, but my free time is quite limited these days. In short: you might want to lower timings instead of increasing the memory frequency when running Phenom2 and DDR3. Tony (from OCZ) has been testing the influence of the memory frequency in comparison to lowering the timings, here are the results: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=224502

The OCZ Blades are quite suited for the low-latency work: 700MHz CL5 at 1.65v :-).

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 700cl5.jpg (215.5 KB, 474 views)
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 19th May 2009, 21:55   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,716
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

this comes as no surprise
AMD CPUs have always liked lower timings vs higher speed afaik
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 20th May 2009, 05:27   #3
OCTB Crew
 
blind_ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,338
blind_ripper Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
this comes as no surprise
AMD CPUs have always liked lower timings vs higher speed afaik
treu and not treu john , it change's from bench mark to benchmark back in the 939socket time.
exampel. 05 with TCCD @ 300+mhz 2.5-3.3.8 orso would have killed BH-5 @ 270mhz 2-2-2-5. both 1T, but then again in 01 BH-5 owned. the bench just loved it.

that a good exampel , its now with 3gb kits vs 6gb kits in 32M superPI.
the 6gb give's u the edge there, thoughe i could not test any my self. i would like to know what other benches benefet from it .
__________________
blind_ripper is offline  
Old 20th May 2009, 09:29   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

900MHz CL7 at 1,65v.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=569971
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 20th May 2009, 11:16   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Last screen from yesterday: 1700CL6. Raised voltage to 1.7v to get it stable, but it seems that it's only stable in ganged mode.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1700cl61.7.jpg (214.4 KB, 280 views)
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 21st May 2009, 23:53   #6
moy2010
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice results . My kit is the OCZ 6GB 1866MHz 8-8-8-X, which I'll be testing soon.

About memory overclockability, it seems that the IMC in the new AM3 CPUs is better than the one on the old Phenoms (Phenom I).

Regards, Massman.
 
Old 22nd May 2009, 08:51   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

The results are good, but not excellent. I reckon the AM3 could benefit from 1GHz CL7 even in terms of latencies, but the current technology just doesn't allow us to go beyond 900MHz stable (and even that is quite difficult).

I'm not sure if it's IMC-quality related. I'd sure like to test (another) 955 to check if I can get >900MHz or not.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 29th May 2009, 22:23   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Having spend a few minutes talking to Tony (OCZ) it became apparent that I actually need a 955 to get the most out of the memory. A 955 and ... colder temperatures.

HERE'S TITON'S RESULT WITH A 955 AND COLDER TEMPERATURES:

__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 30th May 2009, 14:56   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Just tried the setup under the Single Stage unit ... but 1800CL9 is as unstable as it's on air cooling. I'll have to switch to an 955 if I want to push the memories on this AM3 platform.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 30th May 2009, 15:02   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

Maybe also 2 vs 4gb Massman ? puts more strain on the IMC ? Same as with the RE
leeghoofd is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASRock 890GX Extreme3 AMD Socket AM3 DDR3 Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 26th April 2010 13:03
GIGABYTE MA790XT-UD4P AM3 DDR3 Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 24th February 2010 15:00
ASRock M3A785GXH/128M AMD Socket AM3 DDR3 Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 30th November 2009 13:39
ASRock M3A790GXH/128M AMD Socket AM3 DDR3 Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 1st October 2009 14:57
Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P Socket AM3 DDR3 Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 4th September 2009 12:35
Overclocker DDR3 for Socket AM3 jmke WebNews 0 6th June 2009 10:07
Asus M4A78T-E AM3 DDR3 Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 16th March 2009 16:37
AMD Phenom II DDR2 vs. DDR3 Performance jmke WebNews 0 12th March 2009 16:01
AMD Phenom II AM3 CPU Has Arrived, DDR3 for the Dragon Platform jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:18
AMD’s DDR3 comes with socket AM3 /G3 jmke WebNews 0 6th September 2007 09:24

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:40.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO