It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's > On the TestBench - Work In Progress
Ready for Lynnfield? 4x2GB from Corsair (CMD8GX3M4A1600C8) Ready for Lynnfield? 4x2GB from Corsair (CMD8GX3M4A1600C8)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Ready for Lynnfield? 4x2GB from Corsair (CMD8GX3M4A1600C8)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th August 2009, 19:50   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default Ready for Lynnfield? 4x2GB from Corsair (CMD8GX3M4A1600C8)

Test will follow shortly, first the pictures















Attached Thumbnails
ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1396.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1397.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1399.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1401.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1405.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1406.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1407.jpg ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-100_1409.jpg
__________________

Last edited by Massman : 26th August 2009 at 19:53.
Massman is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 19:54   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,133
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

Kinky sticks I really wonder why they are specially Lynfield tagged...
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 20:01   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

One of the more good-looking memory kits I've seen
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 21:07   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
thorgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,887
thorgal Freshly Registered
Default

rev. 3.1 means they're micron based. Don't expect too much OC headroom, triple channel 3.1 rev's were not very good.
__________________



thorgal is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 21:33   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Micron F to be precise
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 22:19   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

we all know by now that raw bandwidth is not what Core i7 is waiting for, so anything even remotely "ok" rated will be plentiful for i5. This kit is all about size; you can run several VMs in your OS and still have plenty of free memory; you can go decadent and put the VM image onto a ramdisk to boost performance of the VM OS to a higher level than the host OS
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 4th September 2009, 07:38   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Just put this kit in for a quick test;



Needed 1.74V (maybe less, just increased 0.1V - doesn't boot at 1.65V)
Attached Thumbnails
ready-lynnfield-4x2gb-corsair-cmd8gx3m4a1600c8-clipboard01.png
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 4th September 2009, 08:24   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
thorgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,887
thorgal Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Massman View Post
Just put this kit in for a quick test;



Needed 1.74V (maybe less, just increased 0.1V - doesn't boot at 1.65V)
Naais It's Micron so this doesn't surprise me
__________________



thorgal is offline  
Old 4th September 2009, 08:25   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Well, it's not that stable or performant. I switched back to 1600CL8 and am hitting higher bandwidth figures.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 4th September 2009, 09:10   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
thorgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,887
thorgal Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Massman View Post
Well, it's not that stable or performant. I switched back to 1600CL8 and am hitting higher bandwidth figures.
Have you tried with only 2 modules ?
__________________



thorgal is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 8GB kit (CMD8GX3M4A1600C8 jmke WebNews 0 11th November 2009 14:37
Corsair launches modular ‘Professional Series’ 450W PSU jmke WebNews 0 26th November 2008 14:09
Corsair Announces High-Density Memory Line for Mac Pro Desktop Systems jmke WebNews 0 18th April 2008 09:23
Corsair Advances Speed Grades on DDR2 & DDR3 DRAM Product Lines jmke WebNews 8 20th February 2008 22:56
Corsair has 2GB DDR2-667 SODIMM Memory Modules jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2007 11:04
Corsair ready to launch Dominator PC2-10000 at CES thorgal WebNews 0 8th January 2007 14:45
Tell Corsair why you love them and Win Gold Plated Memory Sticks jmke WebNews 0 1st November 2006 13:44
Corsair Unveils new PC2-8500 and PC-4400 memory at Cebit 2006 jmke WebNews 0 6th March 2006 15:49
NVIDIA Selects Corsair as its First Certified SLI Ready Memory jmke WebNews 0 3rd November 2005 18:19
Corsair Partners with Tier One Motherboard Manufacturers to Enable nForce4 SLI Intel jmke WebNews 0 15th April 2005 08:30

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO