It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's > On the TestBench - Work In Progress
MSI K7N2 Delta2 Athlon XP nForce2 Ultra400 Platinum Motherboard MSI K7N2 Delta2 Athlon XP nForce2 Ultra400 Platinum Motherboard
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


MSI K7N2 Delta2 Athlon XP nForce2 Ultra400 Platinum Motherboard
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd August 2004, 16:17   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default MSI K7N2 Delta2 Athlon XP nForce2 Ultra400 Platinum Motherboard

Supported CPU: AMD Socket A AthlonXP/Athlon/Duron Processors
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400 + MCP-S1000
FSB: 400/333/266/200MHz
RAM: 3x DIMM Dual-Channel DDR266/333/400 Max 3GB
Slots: 1x AGP 8X/4X, 5x PCI
Ports: 2x PS/2, 1x COM, 1x LPT, 8x USB2.0(Rear 4), 1xRJ45, S/PDIF OUT, Audio Ports
IDE: 2x ATA 133 up to 4 Devices
SATA/RAID: 2x SATA with RAID 0/1/0+1
Onboard Audio: 6-Channel Audio
Onboard LAN: Gigabit LAN
Onboard 1394: 3x 1394 ports
Form Factor: ATX
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd August 2004, 16:18   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

CPU voltage up to 2.3v
Mem voltage up to 3.3v
AGP voltage up to 2.2v

haven't found adjustement for northbridge voltage though , maybe a BIOS update will resolve this (finger crossed)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd August 2004, 20:56   #3
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This looks promising, can't wait to read the review
 
Old 22nd August 2004, 21:39   #4
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There's already a review of this board @ HSO.be, tough there CPU doesnt run higher then 204*11.5

edit: the cpu, not the mobo
 
Old 22nd August 2004, 22:03   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HardFreak
There's already a review of this board @ HSO.be, tough there CPU doesnt run higher then 204*11.5

edit: the cpu, not the mobo
then why don't they drop the multi and higher the FSB????
__________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^\||____
|....The BEER TRUCK.... ||||'""|""\_,__
|___Just for You___l||__|__|___|) _____|
|(@)(@)""""""""""""**|(@)(@)****|(@)|
easypanic is offline  
Old 27th August 2004, 14:51   #6
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hurry up with the review already :grin:

I got two abit nf7's that won't seem to go above 219 fsb with bh-5's even though they get enough volts afaik

1 was claimed to do 240 with no vmods done but i couldn't get more then 230 'ish out of it with ocz' el 4200's :grum:
 
Old 27th August 2004, 14:55   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Yes my lord, but some people do work for a living. If I could live of reviewing hardware I would do it right away, however this is not feasable. So I'm working 40h/week + sports + social affairs (girlfriend & friends) + working at the site and spending hours on end testing hardware.

I also lack working space @home, so I constantly need to move things around at home to get it installed. The MSI mobo will be tested this evening and tommorow. Some testing has already been done last weekend but I need a clean XP install now to do the rest


to answer your question though, since NB voltage is not changable through the BIOS the max FSB will be limited.. knowing that it takes 1.9+v for most nForce2 boards to run 230+Mhz...
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 27th August 2004, 15:15   #8
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I didn't ask for excuses, I asked for results !!






Before you see this as another personal attack towards you, I'm just kidding, same in the previous post, hence the evil smilie


thx for the info on the nb voltage together with this: weinig plaats rond de cpu, geen mountingholes means it's a no go for me
 
Old 27th August 2004, 15:17   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yep, I've noticed the missing mounting holes also, for a Platinum board this is quite disappointing.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th August 2004, 13:43   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Don't want to keep Kristos waiting , so here's the OC result

Max FSB is between 215-220Mhz, at 220Mhz I can boot into Windows and run sisoft but gaming is impossible. At 215 I've been benchmarking/playing Doom3 without a problem.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI K9A2 Platinum AMD 790FX Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 21st November 2008 10:23
MSI DKA790GX Platinum Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 20th October 2008 16:13
MSI P45 Platinum Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 3rd September 2008 21:49
MSI K9A2 Platinum AMD 790FX Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 3rd February 2008 09:08
MSI P35 Motherboard Series Launched jmke WebNews 0 4th June 2007 13:04
MSI P965 Platinum Intel Core 2 Duo Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 5th December 2006 21:02
MSI K9A Platinum - The Most Promising CrossFire Dual GPU Motherboard on AM2 jmke WebNews 0 21st June 2006 08:22
MSI K7N2 Delta2 Platinum Athlon XP nForce2 Review jmke Articles & Howto's 24 19th October 2004 18:36
In-House: MSI K7N2 Delta2 Platinum Athlon XP nForce2 Review jmke WebNews 0 26th September 2004 21:30
MSI K8N Neo Platinum motherboard @ A1-Electronics jmke WebNews 0 25th May 2004 09:33

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:06.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO