It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's > On the TestBench - Work In Progress
Asus M3A78-T and Phenom II X3 720BE Asus M3A78-T and Phenom II X3 720BE
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Asus M3A78-T and Phenom II X3 720BE
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st May 2009, 10:18   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default Asus M3A78-T and Phenom II X3 720BE

This motherboard has been on the pile of 'to-test' for quite some time now, but this week, I had the time (and the courage) to open the box and compare it to the Dfi Lanparty DK 790GX and Foxconn A7DA-S.



Since the normal test procedures are finished, I'm switching from my old 9950BE to the newer 720BE for some overclocking.

More to follow.
Attached Thumbnails
asus-m3a78-t-phenom-ii-x3-720be-asus.jpg
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 10:19   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

First problems already start to pop up: I'm unable to boot with a divider higher than 533MHz, whereas this was no issue with the 9950.

Something memory controller related? We'll keep you updated!
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 10:24   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what happened to the fan clips
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 10:27   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

I just don't use them
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 11:08   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Some updates on the divider problem.

At first, I thought it may have something to do with the onboard gpu, the HD3300, using the sideport memory. I tried again with a different external videocard, the 9500GT, but the 667MHz divider did not work either. So, it's not the IGP.

Secondly, I thought it may be a memory bank issue, so I switched memory to the two black slots. But again, the 667MHz divider did not work.

I also tried the 800MHz divider, but ... no succes
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 15:31   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

The problem seems to be memory-related. With the Crucials I'm able to work with divider 800
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 18:12   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what were you using before?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 18:15   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

GSKill F2-8500CL5S-1GBPK x 2
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 18:19   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

That shouldn't happen, that GSKILL kit in ON the compatibility list

Quote:
G.SKILL F2-8500CL5S-1GBPK DDR2 1066
1024MB DS Heat-Sink
Package
5-5-5-15 N/A V V V
for this motherboard , time to fire off an email to asus and gskill
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st May 2009, 18:47   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

I may have made a little mistake :-)
__________________
Massman is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The complete OC analysis of the AMD Phenom II X6 1090T on ASUS Crosshair IV Formula windwithme General Madness - System Building Advice 5 23rd June 2010 17:13
Asus Crosshair IV Formula: A True Home for Phenom jmke WebNews 0 3rd May 2010 10:05
AMD Cuts Prices of Certain Phenom II and Athlon II Models jmke WebNews 0 13th August 2009 10:01
Phenom II X3 720BE & CrossFire X Performance jmke WebNews 1 28th March 2009 09:48
More AMD Phenom II AM3 Coverage jmke WebNews 0 10th February 2009 13:28
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26
AMD To Crank Up Phenom II Clock-Speeds Upto 3.50 GHz, Planning New Models jmke WebNews 9 3rd February 2009 11:41
Asus M3A78-T powered by 790GX tested with Phenom 9950 jmke WebNews 0 16th September 2008 13:24
Price reductions on AMD Athlon X2, AMD Phenom X3 and AMD Phenom X4 desktop CPUs Massman WebNews 0 1st September 2008 10:34
AMD Preps AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition Chip as Phenom FX Slips jmke WebNews 2 29th November 2007 16:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO