It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's > On the TestBench - Work In Progress
AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE - New sample at Madshrimps AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE - New sample at Madshrimps
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE - New sample at Madshrimps
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th April 2009, 20:24   #21
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Haven't seen that much results of the Gigabyte board, let me know how it turns out (so I can get my sample if it's good ).

What hardware reviewing website are you reviewing for?

Overclocking on cascade is real fun since it's easy to run for hours and really maximize the gear you're testing ... but it doesn't beat LN2 or dry ice, in my humble opinion. The thrill of having to pour liquids to keep the setup running is just awesome
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 12th April 2009, 21:08   #22
moy2010
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's hardwaremx, a mexican site. I also would like to start to play with DICE and LN2, but as I told you before I need to get a decent pot and DICE or LN2.

The main problem here is that, in Mexico, is not that easy to get these (I'm not saying that it would be easier somewhere else, I'm just talking about my local situation). I know some chemists that may help me out to solve this issue . It's just a matter of time.

Once I get a decent mobo I'll share with you all of my experiencies . So we can all grow together .
 
Old 21st April 2009, 13:24   #23
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default


http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=550964

On DFI AM2+ board
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 21st April 2009, 13:25   #24
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

645MHz DDR2: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=550964

The low memory overclocks don't seem to be cpu related. 645MHz is very good for an AMD setup!
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 21st May 2009, 22:04   #25
moy2010
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey Massman, good news : A friend of mine (Kain) did manage to get a bus clock of 350MHz with an ASRock M3A790GXH. That sounds incredible, so let's aim at ASUS and ASRock for the overclocking sessions on the AMD side.

If you've heard any other results from Gigabyte or any other brand, please let me know .
 
Old 21st May 2009, 22:58   #26
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

With MSI's latest bios I'm able to reach 355 quite easily, but 360 is unstable. I reckon as the boards mature, the frequencies will get higher.

Now, I'm focussing on the memory overclocking capabilities of these boards. Here's a link to the non-review related worklog: http://www.madshrimps.be/vbulletin/f...timings-63851/
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 22nd May 2009, 00:53   #27
moy2010
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Awesome stuff you've got there . Are you able to reach 3000MHz for the HT or NB? What's the max Vcore that you can set on the BIOS?
 
Old 22nd May 2009, 08:54   #28
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

3GHz NB is a no-go for this cpu, it seems. 2.7-2.8G is possible, though. The HT Link can be increased to 2.6G quite easily, but didn't test any higher. The real benefits of the HT Link overclock lies in the IGP overclocking, but appart from that, there's close to nothing to gain by increasing this frequency.

Max Vcore would be 2,18v

__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 22nd May 2009, 17:56   #29
moy2010
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice . BTW, I remember you were having problems to reach high frequencies with the last 720 BE. How's it going with the current one?

Mine stopped at 3.8GHz with the Foxconn A7DA-s, but that was coz this motherboard could supply only 1.52V (Even if the BIOS had more VCore options).
 
Old 22nd May 2009, 18:08   #30
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Last one = this one. I want to get rid of it, but might hang on to it for future reviews.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition Socket AM3 Triple Core Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 6th October 2009 13:38
AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition CPU Review jmke WebNews 1 21st March 2009 09:36
AMD Phenom II 720 X3 Black Edition Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 9th March 2009 15:43
AMD Phenom 2 X4 810/ X3 720 BE - DDR3 Review jmke WebNews 0 25th February 2009 08:22
Dry Ice Cooling Takes 150 AMD Phenom II X3 720 (2.8Ghz) to 4.7Ghz Stable! jmke WebNews 7 24th February 2009 16:23
AMD Phenom II X4 810 & X3 720 Black Edition jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2009 17:51
AMD Phenom II X3 720 / X4 810 / X4 920 jmke WebNews 0 17th February 2009 14:11
AMD Phenom II 810, 805, 720 & 710 socket AM3 processors jmke WebNews 0 11th February 2009 15:38
The Phenom II X4 810 & X3 720: AMD Gets DDR3 But Doesn't Need It jmke WebNews 1 9th February 2009 11:39
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO