It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Will you upgrade to a system with Dual Core CPU? Will you upgrade to a system with Dual Core CPU?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Will you upgrade to a system with Dual Core CPU?
Poll: How well known are motherboard brand names
Poll Options
How well known are motherboard brand names

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th January 2006, 13:15   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Will you upgrade to a system with Dual Core?

AMD and Intel have no a nice product line-up of new Dual Core CPU's available in most stores.

Are you going for an upgrade this year?
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 13:21   #2
agent #2
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not this year. I need a laptop soon so I don't have funds for a new cpu. I'll maybe buy one of those Centrino Duo laptops so that will be dual core then.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 14:59   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

yep, new server in Q1 or Q2 2006

should look something like this
Asus A8N5X
DDR400 ECC reg 2x1024MB
Athlon 64 X2 4400 (socket 939 Toledo 2x1024K cache) + stock cooling
CM Stacker Big Tower T01 (atx + e-atx)
MSI nVidia GeForce MX4000 - 64MB AGP8x
Plextor PlexWriter PX-230A - CD-RW drive 52x/32x/52x
PSU Fortron Bleu Storm 350 (120mm + 2 sata)
NIC (incl.)
WD Raptor 36GB x 2
Maxtor ata 80GB
3,5'' 1.44 MB Floppy Diskdrive Black
Fans 80mm
Fans 90mm
Fans 120mm
Samcheer 4 x S-ATA HDD backplane
Linux

1.500,00 EUR :^)
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 15:02   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

is there a reason why you stick to AGP board?
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 15:06   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
is there a reason why you stick to AGP board?
it will be used as a server, couldn't care less about graphics ... no-one will work on that pc
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 15:08   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

it even won't have an attached screen once it's running, or keyboard, or mouse
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 15:10   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

why not search out a motherboard with integrated graphics?
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 15:38   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
why not search out a motherboard with integrated graphics?
Only one's i found with integrated graphics also had all kinds of other (unnessary) integrated stuff resulting in a higher price than no integrated graphics + cheapo agp-card.

less = more
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 16:20   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Intel or AMD upgrade to Dual Core is another question?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 16:21   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

let's this poll run its course please
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARM Readies Dual Core CPU Onslaught With 1.2 GHz Snapdragon jmke WebNews 0 1st June 2010 16:37
Coolit WS 240 Dual CPU Cooling System review jmke WebNews 0 22nd May 2009 09:26
Celeron, Pentium Dual Core and Athlon X2: Which One is the Best USD 70 CPU? jmke WebNews 0 4th July 2008 11:39
The Dual Core CPU Decision Sidney WebNews 0 19th February 2006 06:14
Affordable dual core AMD X2 on the way Sidney WebNews 2 7th July 2005 23:30
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Dual Core Review Sidney WebNews 0 9th May 2005 17:03
Intel dual core may play games slower jmke WebNews 0 18th March 2005 13:02
Intel Dual Core CPU "SmithField" Details jmke WebNews 1 22nd October 2004 20:16
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 16:03

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:19.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO