It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Up Close with nVidia's Quad SLI Up Close with nVidia's Quad SLI
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Up Close with nVidia's Quad SLI
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th March 2006, 17:10   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Up Close with nVidia's Quad SLI

To top things off, we ran 3D Mark 05 at 2560x1600 with the maximum anti-aliasing setting offered by Quad SLI... 32x SLI AA!! We ended up with a score of 3000+, which is amazing at this kind of settings. Maximum resolution with a breakthrough level of anti-aliasing. The frame rates is definitely not liquid smooth, but not exactly a slide show either. That's pretty much the speed of getting your 6600GT to run 3d mark 05 but at image quality settings so many times better. You can say I've never seen 3D Mark 05 look this good and sharp.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 18:45   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

Run any recent game at that resolution with 32sli aa : SLIDESHOW

marketing crap
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 21:40   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

don't mind the fact that you don't see the difference between 8x AA and 16x/32x
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 10:48   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

first and foremost, I love Firingsquad Hardware reviews, but this is what I mean, any game tested at these insane resolutions...isn't playable, firingsquad tests 2560*1600 performance, but the only way to make some of them playable is when omitting all iq settings
linkie

quake 4 : 120 fps at 2560*1600, but without af or aa, what's that about? when you buy a 2000 euro monitor and a 1000 euro gpu setup, you'd expect to put on at least some aa of af, you will notice goddamn jaggies even at this resolution on a 30" monitor!! predicting the effect of 4aa and 16af on these results is impossible so it doesn't mean anything...

cod2 gets 40-ish fps mean! that means frequent sub30 drops probably, with that extreme setup probably 6000+ euro's in total and that's with NO AA and 8*af... 4aa would probably get you 15 fps or so...to get this remotely playable with 4*aa and the same amount of af, we'd need at the least a tripling of the gpupower in this game at this resolution...my guess is a quad gpu setup will get you 30-40% of increase : NOT ENOUGH!! unplayable...

halflife lost coast HDR : NO aa, 8 af , 60- ish mean fps (probably playable), get that 4 aa on and you have probably 30-40 fps mean with sub30 drops: UNPLAYABLE , maybe a quad gpu would make that just playable.

fear at this resolution with no aa gets you about 60fps with minimum of 41 : perfectly playable with that dual 7900 gtx, enabling aa will cut that down even at 2*aa levels to just merely playable, 4 aa will make it unplayable, quad gpu probably could make that just playable

assuming there is an increase of quad gpu of 40% (which probably won't be so, lower clocks and all that count too)



BUT THESE ARE ALL 'PROBABLY PLAYABLE' tags at 4*aa, take an educated guess if 8*aa will work (NO IT WON'T) let alone 16 or 32*aa
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 16:14   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Are you surprised at 2560*1600 gives unplayable performance when using AA ?

/me not at all, it's not because you pay 6000 for a PC that that means you should be able to play at such insane resolutions

it would be nice -- but let's not dream
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 16:22   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

what I mean is that all the sellers selling quadsli promote this kind of gaming, and it's a total improbability.
19200*1200 with 4aa and 16af multisampling is the only certainty for slisetups/crossfire, quad sli will probably yield just one more resolutionbump.
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 16:23   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

it's like demanding that your new car goes 650km/h
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 17:22   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

four gpu's John, not two, four!
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 17:23   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yes I can read Doc - but even with 8 of them you won't be able to play games at the resolution with AA enabled.

simple fact is that the GPU tech currently does not allow such high resolutions with AA enabled to run fluently

be it 1/2/4/8/16 cards in SLI
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2006, 17:35   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

650...
sounds nice.

monaco in two hours
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA 9800 GX2 Quad SLI Review jmke WebNews 0 28th March 2008 12:36
XFX 9800 GX2 Quad and 8800 Ultra Three Way SLI + ESA jmke WebNews 0 26th March 2008 15:20
Nvidia's nForce 680i LT SLI motherboard Released jmke WebNews 0 26th March 2007 16:18
Biostar TF680i SLI Deluxe: get ready for overclocking of Intel Core 2 Quad processor jmke WebNews 0 8th November 2006 14:39
NVIDIA Quad SLI under the microscope jmke WebNews 0 13th October 2006 09:40
ATI Vendor leaks X1950XTX Crossfire vs Quad SLI Benchmarks jmke WebNews 0 9th August 2006 19:26
NVIDIA Quad SLI DIY Interview jmke WebNews 0 19th July 2006 18:50
Close Look at Dry Ice & Water-Cooled 7950GX2 Quad SLI System jmke WebNews 0 19th June 2006 16:06
Quad nVidia SLI vs Quad ATI Crossfire? jmke WebNews 0 23rd January 2006 23:35
Corsair named NVIDIA's Memory Development and Launch Partner for nForceT4 SLI jmke WebNews 0 5th April 2005 21:47

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:26.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO