It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Samsung ready to release 16GB solid state hard drives Samsung ready to release 16GB solid state hard drives
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Samsung ready to release 16GB solid state hard drives
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th May 2005, 07:03   #21
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, I sent this yesterday and this is the reply I got:
--------------------------------------
I am interested in your product but:

1) 4GB is not enough. WinXP and a game like Doom3 would fill all of that. I want to house all my programs in a rocket drive and leave my data in other disks.

We will have an 8 GB out next year.

2) What about a PCIe version of the rocket drive? Wouldn't that be faster? Would it choke the PCI express lane though (if I had a GeForce 6800 Ultra for example running alongside)?

Again, more on this next year.

3) What latency does your RAM have (if that applies)?

The drive latency is 0.6 us (microseconds)
---------------------------------------

So how does microseconds compare to nanoseconds.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2005, 11:35   #22
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And this is the answer I got from Texas:

-----------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your recent inquiry for information on RamSan solid state disks (SSDs). I appreciate your interest in Texas Memory Systems (TMS) SSDs, but I may have to disappoint you. Because of the expense of the systems (the introductory 8GB system, the RamSan-120, costs $24,000), there are no immediate plans to introduce a retail model.
----------------------------------------------------

Ouch! That's going to leave a scar:grum:
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2005, 19:18   #23
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

500Mb Ramdisk here really pays off; games load instantly from that drive
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 06:46   #24
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What's the procedure like because I can devote whole GB to it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 08:32   #25
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Get http://www.superspeed.com/desktop/ramdisk.php ramdisk

version 8.x if possible; worth the $; allows you to create ramdisk to use for pagefile
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 11:18   #26
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ooooooooohh, now I get it. Ooops

I certainly can't devote a GB to it.

I have 1 GB of 2-2-2-5 ram.

Let's say I wish to improve the performance of Doom 3. Is there a point in using RamDisk 8 ? What's the max Ram Doom3 can use at any given time? If there is any Ram left would there be a point of allocating the rest for the pagefile (or some other file which would increase Doom3 performance)?

I am usin Doom3 as an example because it is a widely used application and a very demanding one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 11:42   #27
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

You'll need 2gb+ RAM to make RAMdisk useable for larger games like Doom3/FarCry/etc..
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 11:54   #28
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Let's say I do buy another GB of 2-2-2-5 RAM.

What then? I allocate that second GB to the pagefile?

I won't be able to run the RAM at 2-2-2-5 though, so I'll loose some performance, and some more because I will have all 4 DIMM slots fitted with RAM (I don't remember why exactly but when all 4 are fitted I think the Frequency drops on most motherboards).

But we can skip that and assume that the system was designed with RamDisk in mind and 2x1GB modules were purchased.

Will there be a considerable gain in performance? Will it have a decent value? (given that we were forced to buy 2 GB of RAM).

Couldn't you turn this into an article and test such a rig (I'm just saying)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 12:01   #29
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Faiakes

Couldn't you turn this into an article and test such a rig (I'm just saying)?
the maximum I can fit is 3 slots in my A64 testrig; which would be 1.5gb at PC3200 CL2.5 2-3-7 2T

not good enough for page file action though; I only have version 7 of ramdisk; might need to contact them for a higher version, but not without sufficient hardware to do a test. don't have time/resources to it anyway now though...

having 2GB with 1gb ramdisk and your pagefile on there will increase performance quite a bit when swapping between programs. but I have not tested this yet; would be interesting to see how it will work out.

I've only experimented with putting game demos on the ramdisk; and loading times are instant, 5x-10x faster then on 10000rpm 74gb Raptor
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2005, 12:25   #30
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think most ASUS motherboards will tolerate all 4 DIMM slots filled with RAM. Don't you have one lying around (in your vast, underground, JamesBond style lab )

1 GB of pagefile might just be enough. I currently have 2GB solid (perhaps another article idea there...)

However, Diskeeper 9.0.515.0 advises to increase over 2GB. (how about a software review of defragmentaion progs, like Diskeeper, the best I think).
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A look at Solid State Drives (SSD) v. Hard Drives (HD) jmke WebNews 0 2nd March 2010 08:39
OCZ Technology Introduces the Agility Series 2.5 Solid State Drives jmke WebNews 0 10th June 2009 10:55
OCZ Technology Launches Mac Edition Vertex Series Solid State Drives and Notebook RAM jmke WebNews 0 8th April 2009 20:55
OCZ Technology Introduces New Apex Series Solid State Drives jmke WebNews 0 14th January 2009 17:05
Samsung intros new solid state drives jmke WebNews 0 28th August 2008 17:11
Seagate Promises 2TB Drives and Solid State Drives in 2009 jmke WebNews 0 2nd June 2008 12:39
JEDEC to Standardize Solid State Drives jmke WebNews 0 31st August 2007 15:40
Solid State put to the test Team 16GB 2.5-inch IDE Solid State Drive jmke WebNews 1 25th April 2007 19:19
Super Talent Announces SATA Solid State Disk Drives jmke WebNews 1 14th March 2007 13:45
Western Digital ready to start shipping 6GB 1-inch Hard Drives in 2nd Q 2005 jmke WebNews 0 20th January 2005 21:44

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO