It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Report: no LTE, WiMax for iPhone 5 Report: no LTE, WiMax for iPhone 5
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Report: no LTE, WiMax for iPhone 5
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th October 2011, 06:49   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Stefan Mileschin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 40,221
Stefan Mileschin Freshly Registered
Default Report: no LTE, WiMax for iPhone 5

Don't expect any 4G surprises at today's Apple media event, where the company is expected to reveal its next generation iPhone hardware. According to the Wall Street Journal, the new iPhone definitely won't be packing any compatibility with either LTE or WiMax 4G wireless networking standards.

According to WSJ sources, the new iPhone will work on 3G networks, including AT&T's HSPA+ network, which the carrier has been advertising as "4G." But it won't be compatible with AT&T's newly launched LTE network nor Verizon's already growing LTE network. It also won't be compatible with Sprint's nationwide WiMax 4G network, despite the fact that Sprint has reportedly made a commitment to sell over 25 million iPhones over the next few years.

Though several Android-based smartphones have been released with support for nascent 4G networks, Apple has so far been reluctant to add it to its popular iPhone. Despite rumors to the contrary, CEO Tim Cook has repeatedly said that "LTE would force design compromises we're not willing to make," including increased size and decreased battery life.

Ars will be on hand with live coverage from Cupertino starting today at 12pm CT (1pm ET, 11am MT, 10am PT).

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/20...red+Content%29
Stefan Mileschin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi Vs WiMax - What Is The Difference? jmke WebNews 0 23rd May 2006 09:37
Intel: WiMAX cards by the end of this year jmke WebNews 0 8th March 2006 20:37
How to Build a WiMAX Network jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2006 13:34
WiMax vs WiFi Article jmke WebNews 0 16th January 2006 22:23

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:18.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO