It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
How Much Cash for that Cache? AMD do not want you to have 1Mb cache How Much Cash for that Cache? AMD do not want you to have 1Mb cache
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


How Much Cash for that Cache? AMD do not want you to have 1Mb cache
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th June 2006, 13:50   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
How Much Cash for that Cache? AMD do not want you to have 1Mb cache

So what makes, say, a 2.0GHz 4000+ X2 worth almost twice as much as a 2.0GHz 3800+ X2, or a single-core 2.2GHz 3700+ worth as much as a dual-core 4200+, or more than twice as much as a single-core 2.2GHz 3500+?

The answer is: 512K cache.

What AMD is doing is slashing the prices on CPUs that have 512K cache per core, while leaving the prices on any chips that have 1Mb cache alone.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 15:18   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Cache = cash
512K Cache = OEM machines
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 16:07   #3
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

*hugs his 4440+*


reason is simple, in a pricewar costs are essential and the costs of 1MB chips are significantly higher because you get less chips per wafer and you get more distribution costs


AMD preparing for pricewar is confirmed with this move
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 20:53   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Hell, look at Newegg today.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...on=amd&Ntk=all

A64 Venice 3000+ $95.50
Venice 3200+ $99
3500+ $114

Am2 pricing is not far ahead. With a $150 7600GT and a decent MB, you will have a damn good system.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 21:03   #5
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

considering the use of dualcore by future games, the 805 D still PWNS the low end Venice
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2006, 00:01   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

considering that still being more than 1-2 years away, plenty of time to upgrade the CPU afterwards
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2006, 13:49   #7
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well, I enjoy dualocre action right now and there are plenty of people reporting their general windows usage is kinda crappy with with singlecore A64 compared to HT CPUs and dualcores
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2006, 14:41   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

I have Intel HT, A64 Dualcore and A64 single core running; except for real multi-thread usage which I do infrequently, general apps seem faster with single core contrary to others.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2006, 15:12   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you were referring to games Rutar, not apps
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2006, 15:25   #10
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

right now 1 core is plenty fast for current games but in the future when more power is needed the second core gets handy therfore it's more futureproof than a singlecore

right now, the benfits in general windows usage are already there
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Launches World’s First x86 Triple-Core Processors jmke WebNews 0 27th March 2008 15:16
Most efficient L2 cache usage: Intel shared or AMD dedicated? jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2006 13:04
AMD Will Use Shared L3 Cache jmke WebNews 0 3rd August 2006 16:17
AMD To Ditch Initial AM2 2x1MB Cache Desktop CPUs jmke WebNews 0 14th June 2006 18:36
AMD Introduces Line of Low-Power, High-Performance AMD Geode Embedded x86 Processors Sidney WebNews 0 24th May 2004 06:10
Amd Reports Fourth Quarter And Annual Results jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2004 14:47

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:48.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO