It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Gigabyte's i-RAM: Affordable Solid State Storage Gigabyte's i-RAM: Affordable Solid State Storage
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Gigabyte's i-RAM: Affordable Solid State Storage
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th July 2005, 06:55   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default Gigabyte's i-RAM: Affordable Solid State Storage

The important thing to focus on is that thanks to Gigabyte’s battery system, data-loss was never an issue during our use of the card; and despite the lack of ECC memory support, we never had any data corruption during our testing.

In the end, the i-RAM is an interesting addition to a system, but it’s usefulness will truly vary from one user to the next. With a bit more capacity, and especially for those users who happen to have a few 1GB sticks laying around, the i-RAM could be a very powerful addition to your system. Hats off to Gigabyte for making something useful, and we can't wait to see rev 2...

http://www.anandtech.com/storage/sho...spx?i=2480&p=1
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2005, 08:37   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

It is time to stock up DDR
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2005, 09:56   #3
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Apparently Gigabyte is limitting the success of their own invention.

- Why not SATA I & II compatibility?

- Why a memory controller that operates at a mere 100MHz (DDR200)? Did DDR200 come out in 1GB sticks at all? No, so we'd have to use other memory anyway.

- Wouldn't iRAM benefit massively from DDR2? (maybe more expensive but it should be an option).
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2005, 09:59   #4
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oh yes, let's not forget: 4GB ???

What on earth can you fit on that? Doom 1?

- 8GB ought to be the minimum, and no I don't want to buy another iRAM to get that space because:
a) I may not have any slots left in my RAID array
b) I would have to spent another 150$ and this thing is already expensive enough!
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB SATA 6Gbps Solid State Drive Review jmke WebNews 0 30th June 2010 13:46
Kingston SSDNow V-Series 30GB Solid State Boot Drive Review jmke WebNews 0 10th March 2010 17:10
OCZ Technology Introduces the Agility Series 2.5” Solid State Drives jmke WebNews 0 10th June 2009 11:55
OCZ Technology Launches Mac Edition Vertex Series Solid State Drives and Notebook RAM jmke WebNews 0 8th April 2009 21:55
OCZ Technology Introduces New Apex Series Solid State Drives jmke WebNews 0 14th January 2009 18:05
G.Skill Announces TITAN SATA II 2.5” Solid State Drive Available in 128GB and 256GB C jmke WebNews 0 7th January 2009 15:19
Solid State put to the test – Team 16GB 2.5-inch IDE Solid State Drive jmke WebNews 1 25th April 2007 20:19
Adtron Introduces 160Gb Solid State Flash Disk jmke WebNews 2 26th February 2007 00:49
1 Terabyte Solid State Storage jmke WebNews 3 20th March 2006 09:08
RAM disk add-in card - Gigabyte's fast data storage Sidney WebNews 12 1st June 2005 17:34

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:15.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO