It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Gigabyte creates first dual-GPU graphics card Gigabyte creates first dual-GPU graphics card
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Gigabyte creates first dual-GPU graphics card
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th December 2004, 19:11   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default Gigabyte creates first dual-GPU graphics card

Chicago (IL) - Gigabyte will announce Friday the industry's first graphics card running two graphics processors on one board. According to sources, the SLI card will lift current 3DMark2003 record revels by a significant margin while being priced lower than ATI's and Nvidia's single-GPU high-end cards.

http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews...16_115811.html
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2004, 19:23   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Re: Gigabyte creates first dual-GPU graphics card

Quote:
Originally posted by lazyman
Gigabyte will announce Friday the industry's first graphics card running two graphics processors on one board
are you kidding me?

I'm pretty sure there are dual GPU cards out there now
http://www.xgitech.com/products/products_2.asp?P=1
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2004, 19:29   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Correction:

Dual-GPU card by one of two big names.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 07:30   #4
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ati created the Rage Fury + some specialized cards with two or more GPUs, 3Dfx did it with their latest creation, XGI does it....

Well, not so uncommon after all
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 14:31   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

could you put two of these in sli?
that'd be quadcore-gpu-phun!
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 19:07   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

they are already in SLI, read the 1st posto
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 19:08   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

yes... but they only occupy one slot of an sli board...
what happens if you put two of these on one sli-board?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 19:19   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Quad 4
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 19:27   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by calantak
yes... but they only occupy one slot of an sli board...
what happens if you put two of these on one sli-board?
afaik there is no SLI connector which can connect two of these cards
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 20:11   #10
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Besides, they develop that kinda technology because they find SLI technology less productive then 2 GPU's on a card...
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE Extends Super Overclock Series with GTX 470 SOC Graphics Card jmke WebNews 0 6th August 2010 16:41
GIGABYTE Extends Ultimate Super Overclock Series with HD 5870 SOC Graphics Card jmke WebNews 0 11th April 2010 10:32
GIGABYTE Presents Radeon™ HD 5870 Eyefinty 6 Edition Graphics Card jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2010 14:57
GIGABYTE Announces “OC Guru is You” Graphics Card Online Competition jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2010 14:57
GIGABYTE Unveils the Round Two of Graphics Card Overclocking Competition jmke WebNews 0 2nd November 2009 10:10
CoolIT Systems Announces Liquid Cooling for AMD's New Dual GPU Graphics Cards jmke WebNews 0 28th January 2008 15:25
Gigabyte Passive Dual Slot 7600GT Video Card jmke WebNews 0 22nd August 2006 16:16
ATI X800 Pro Ultra 2X Dual GPU Graphics Card Review jmke WebNews 3 1st April 2005 11:59
Gigabyte GV-3D1 Dual nVIDIA 6600GT PCI-E Graphics Card Review jmke WebNews 0 28th December 2004 22:35
Gigabyte Offers GeForce 6800 Graphics Card Without Cooling Fan jmke WebNews 0 21st August 2004 23:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO