It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
DRAM makers asked to produce more DDR DRAM makers asked to produce more DDR
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


DRAM makers asked to produce more DDR
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th November 2005, 19:09   #1
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default DRAM makers asked to produce more DDR

With Intel resuming 865-series chipset production, DRAM makers asked to produce more DDR

With Intel reportedly scheduled to restart production of entry-level 865GV chipsets this quarter, the chip giant requested DRAM makers to allot more capacity for DDR, according to sources at memory makers.

Although adjusting capacity to DDR production is not a tough job for makers, they commented that they are being caught in a dilemma, as it is uncertain that whether demand for DDR-supported chipsets will persist.

With reference to the production adjustments among memory makers in the past few months, players have been ramping DDR production on Intelís request, the sources noted. However, memory makers are still looking forward to a growing acceptance of DDR2 in the market and they have reserved a major portion of their capacity for such production.

http://www.digitimes.com/bits_chips/a20051115A2005.html
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 19:11   #2
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Come here go there - when I say jump, you ask how high.

Does DDR2 really return more performance over DDR1?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 19:17   #3
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it's much cheaper to make, just look at the 1 GB stick prices

about the same performance for AMD and better performance fro Intel
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 19:42   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,003
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rutar
it's much cheaper to make, just look at the 1 GB stick prices

about the same performance for AMD and better performance fro Intel
uh ? DDR2 doens't work (yet) on AMD. So how can there be any performance compairisons
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 19:58   #5
goingpostale1
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I hear the high latencies negate any performance increase on an AMD platform until you reach higher speeds like 667 and 800 more so 800.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 20:35   #6
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sucks a lot for future amd users when intel sucks the DDR market dry and you NEED 2x1GB for AMD because 4x512 is borked
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 20:46   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,003
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

You don't NEED 2 gig of memory.

THat's for freaks and high end gamers. Normal office users DO have enough with 256 Mb. Perhaps, in extremer cases 512 Mb...
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 20:51   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,003
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Office users minimum is 512Mb nowadays Piotke.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 20:58   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,003
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

More then half of the companies still use 256 Mb, and that's enough.

That will change and is changing to 512 Mb for a default office computer. And then, again in 4 or 5 years, it's maybe going to evolve.

But certainly not to 1 or even 2 GB like Rutar is stating.
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 21:08   #10
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I see more and more prebuild comp0uters with a gig, 512Mb is becoming standard in lowend machines. Simply because it's the cheapest way to make a computer fast.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overambitious DRAM makers blame Vista for decreased profit jmke WebNews 3 30th December 2008 08:12
Kingston co-founder: DRAM makers have no way out jmke WebNews 0 4th June 2008 11:03
Kingston crowned king of DRAM makers jmke WebNews 0 24th July 2007 14:08
DRAM makers refuse to cut prices jmke WebNews 0 30th May 2007 13:48
DRAM Makers Start Reducing Production jmke WebNews 2 23rd May 2007 16:40
SiS to produce DRAM modules jmke WebNews 0 1st March 2006 15:46
DRAM Oversupply Widens, Claims JP Morgan jmke WebNews 5 30th March 2005 15:01
Memory Makers to Reach DDR/DDR2 Shipments Crossover by Mid-2005. jmke WebNews 0 31st January 2005 10:18
Rambus Develops Memory Controller for DDR, DDR2, GDDR, XDR Memory jmke WebNews 0 11th May 2004 00:13
Taiwanese Memory Makers Outline DDR2 Strategy: No Inexpensive DDR2 to Come Soon jmke WebNews 0 21st April 2004 10:57

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:25.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO