It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Core i7 - Is High VDimm really a Problem? Core i7 - Is High VDimm really a Problem?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Core i7 - Is High VDimm really a Problem?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th October 2008, 17:17   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,988
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Core i7 - Is High VDimm really a Problem?

Numerous articles and forum posts have been popping up recently about the potential of high VDimm settings damaging or destroying the upcoming i7 processor series. Will high VDimm cause damage? The answer to that question is not so simple actually. Unfortunately, due to the current NDA status, we cannot go into detail about this subject matter but can provide a general brief on it.

Our answer at this time is Yes and No. It sounds like we are straddling the fence but in actuality the correct answer depends on the available BIOS options, BIOS settings, memory selection, and final voltage settings. Intelís stance is clear on this subject, run VDimm higher than their 1.50V~1.65V guidelines and you will affect the life span of the processor.

Exactly what the impact to the processor will be is dependent upon several factors. Put simply, if you go crazy with VDimm, letís say around 2.0V~2.2V without additional tuning, then expect to greatly reduce the processor lifespan to a few weeks or maybe days. We have already witnessed several CPUs being damaged or destroyed at the motherboard partners with high VDimm settings, especially those that ran at 2.0V or higher with base settings. By base settings, we mean configuring an i7/X58 platform in the same manner a typical user now sets up a Penryn/X48 DDR3 platform. The rules have changed completely for Intel, just we cannot discuss the playbook at this time (hey, it is frustrating for us also).

http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=3426
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2008, 22:16   #2
tgarland
 
Posts: n/a
Default the vdimm is now tied to the vcore

see the nehalem diagram for the Core i7 and see the IMC where the DDR3 memory plugs into the CPU. the vdimm should now be pegged to the vcore and NOT independently set.

blog search google for +vdimm +i7 to get diagram

from Anandtech's article - Intel recommends setting the vDimm at a conservative 1.50 to 1.65V

BIOS and mobo manufacturers may have an update which pegs the vdimm to vcore when a nehalem class chip is detected
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Six-core Phenom II to feature Turbo Core tech, high frequencies jmke WebNews 0 11th April 2010 11:34
13 High End CPU Coolers for Intel Core i7 Compared jmke WebNews 1 25th March 2009 10:01
AMD dual core problem on WIn XP x64 fmolina Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 29th October 2007 14:26
Serious Find Max Core and Mem Problem! hkelxx Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 7th July 2006 14:56
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 14:33
Running high VDIMM & low VCORE you risk to killing your Athlon 64 CPU jmke WebNews 7 22nd January 2006 21:29

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO