It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
64-bit is old hat, Microsoft mulling 128-bit versions of Windows 64-bit is old hat, Microsoft mulling 128-bit versions of Windows
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

64-bit is old hat, Microsoft mulling 128-bit versions of Windows

Old 12th October 2009, 10:48   #21
wutske

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
Secondly, I have still not seen anyone list specific problems with 64bit compatibility... I've been using 64bit OS's for three years, the only issues I still see today are with legacy hardware/software. If legacy compatibility is an issue, then they shouldn't be upgrading OS's, or should just dual-boot.
It's a small list of very specific tools, but there are many more
  • RMClock utility doesn't work (due to driver signing, unless you sign them yourself and run Seven in test-mode)
  • Speedfan doesn't work (due to driver signing and selfsigning doesn't work either)
  • ACR-122 NFC card reader doesn't work (no handle returned by driver on x64 OS)
  • TrendMicro RootKit Buster doesn't work on x64 OS
  • Rootkitrevealer also refuses to work on Seven x64 (haven't tested it on 7 x86 to be honest )
  • Visual Studio is still completely 32-bit and even Visual Studio 2010 won't be made for x64.
  • Debugging 64-bit applications is limited (eg. you can't change a 64-bit app when it's being debugged while you can with a 32-bit app)
  • SQLite doesn't work in a 64-bit .NET application
  • Xilinx FPGAA development tools seem to have a problem with 64-bit OS'es too.

A small list of small problems, but it does show that 64-bit OS's aren't ready yet to completely take over 32-bit.

I do believe tough that when 8 comes out, things might be different.
Old 12th October 2009, 10:51   #22
Madshrimp

jmke has disabled reputation