It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
What is better Pentium or AMD What is better Pentium or AMD
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

What is better Pentium or AMD
Closed Thread

Old 8th May 2004, 12:17   #1
Sªlva

What is better Pentium or AMD

I am going to by a new pc. I'm not very experienced

What should I chose Pentium or AMD and what version?

Also what graphics card do i use?

I would apreciate if you could e-mail me

salvem@hotmail.com

or just reply

Old 8th May 2004, 12:22   #2
wutske

It realy depends on what you will do w/ it. Personaly, I prefer an Athlon64, but other will prefer a P4 or a good ol' XP. Graphics card, same here, what will you do with it ?

Ow, now I do hope this ain't going to become another AMD/Intel war toppic .

Old 8th May 2004, 12:23   #3
[M] Reviewer

piotke Freshly Registered

AMD has now the fastest CPU's for a decent price...

A64 3000+ or 3200+ seem to have the best bang-for-the-buck effect.
Old 8th May 2004, 12:25   #4
TeuS

intel stuff is a bit more reliable, but a lot more expensive then AMD. they're a bit faster for desktop stuff, but not for gaming

AMD XP stuff is pretty cheap, but nforce² mainboards are less reliable.

AMD 64 stuff is very fast, but expensive atm. there are some problems with memory compatibility.

Old 8th May 2004, 12:35   #5
[M] Reviewer

piotke Freshly Registered

Quote:
Originally posted by TeuS
intel stuff is a bit more reliable, but a lot more expensive then AMD. they're a bit faster for desktop stuff, but not for gaming

AMD XP stuff is pretty cheap, but nforce² mainboards are less reliable.
What's the problem with the reliability ? I had up to now 3 A64 setups, 2 of them died. But that had nothing to do with that, They died because I used them in a dumbass way ....