It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Virus/Trojan from overclockers.com Virus/Trojan from overclockers.com
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Virus/Trojan from overclockers.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th June 2007, 03:30   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default Virus/Trojan from overclockers.com

Like to title said. It has been in the last 4-5 weeks. Most caught and cleaned my Symantec.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 11th June 2007, 08:17   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are you sure it's their site?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th June 2007, 14:56   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Front page www.overclocks.com, virus detected and cleaned.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 11th June 2007, 15:25   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

why not try www.overclockers.com ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th June 2007, 15:27   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Typo on my part above; virus/trojan remain
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 11th June 2007, 15:34   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what virus scan software version/browser/OS are you using? No issues with OC.com here

McAfee and Kaspersky find nothing
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th June 2007, 21:28   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Symantec antivirus V10.1.5 for XP and 10.2 for Vista.

It does not happen all the time; it has been on and off for the last few weeks. I did not pay attention to it since the virus was cleaned; and I deleted them. It happened again before my original post here. If it happens again, I will drop a note to Ed, or is there any guy named "Joe".
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II

Last edited by Sidney : 11th June 2007 at 21:36.
Sidney is offline  
Old 16th June 2007, 16:36   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Happened again this morning. From overclockers.com front page prompted for Active DirectX run, click ok, explorer shuts down and Bloodhound.exe was caught and cleaned by Symantec.

It seems one of their adv gif file is the cause.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 17th June 2007, 01:24   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

why use IE in the first place, with activex enabled?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:40.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO