It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Setting up browser almost equals setting up OS Setting up browser almost equals setting up OS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Setting up browser almost equals setting up OS
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th August 2008, 22:38   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default Setting up browser almost equals setting up OS

Setting up and tweaking a browser is slowly becoming/resembling setting up a OS.
Attached Thumbnails
setting-up-browser-almost-equals-setting-up-os-ff_addons.jpg
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 10th August 2008, 02:23   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

depends on what you use it for, most of those plugins listed don't have much to do with browsing
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th August 2008, 00:28   #3
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That is exactly why I still don't use Firefox... get most of that "out of the box" with Opera, no plugins to manage. No plugins crashing my browser either, or breaking with every new FF update.

I just wish Opera 9.5x wasn't so buggy or didn't break so much compatibility verses 9.27...
 
Old 11th August 2008, 19:19   #4
OCTB Member
 
nigel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belguim => Zulte
Posts: 221
nigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
That is exactly why I still don't use Firefox... get most of that "out of the box" with Opera, no plugins to manage. No plugins crashing my browser either, or breaking with every new FF update.

I just wish Opera 9.5x wasn't so buggy or didn't break so much compatibility verses 9.27...
Hmm I don't really have a problem whit firefox and the many many plug-ins
ofcours whit FF3 several plug-ins died but they will be back (i hope)
nigel is offline  
Old 11th August 2008, 19:20   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
I just wish Opera 9.5x wasn't so buggy or didn't break so much compatibility verses 9.27...
seems we can't have it both ways, nor FF, nor IE nor Opera is perfect;
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th August 2008, 19:30   #6
OCTB Member
 
nigel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belguim => Zulte
Posts: 221
nigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registerednigel Fully Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
seems we can't have it both ways, nor FF, nor IE nor Opera is perfect;
I have an idea,
don"t use the internet and you won't have any problems
nigel is offline  
Old 11th August 2008, 20:22   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that's no solution
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th August 2008, 21:46   #8
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nigel, exactly my point. Either the plugins crashed my FF browser... OR if they were stable+working, they would break with new FF updates. Way to time consuming for me to deal with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
seems we can't have it both ways, nor FF, nor IE nor Opera is perfect;
I only use 9.27, is "perfect" enough, although just no longer updated.
 
Old 11th August 2008, 21:53   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

thus security risks/exploits ŕ volenté
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th August 2008, 22:10   #10
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
thus security risks/exploits ŕ volenté
But this is Opera... no active X, no plugins, almost no exploits can work on it.

Biggest security risk is Javascript exploits, but nothing Opera can do about those.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access two Gmail accounts at once in the same browser jmke WebNews 1 6th August 2010 17:48
DirectX 11 Coming To Browser Games jmke WebNews 0 24th February 2010 16:54
Chrome reaches third place in browser rankings (4.4%) jmke WebNews 0 17th December 2009 15:47
Futuremark Releases Browser Benchmark jmke WebNews 8 24th March 2009 08:39
Mozilla Unveils Aurora Concept Browser jmke WebNews 0 6th August 2008 18:28
Browser speed comparisons jmke WebNews 1 7th November 2006 12:51
The Browser Wars Are Back Sidney WebNews 0 27th May 2005 20:19
Browser Speed Comparisons jmke WebNews 0 14th February 2005 11:02

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:44.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO