It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
In search for hardware In search for hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


In search for hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th June 2008, 09:14   #11
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

Could anyone tell me what the idle power consumption of a AMD64 3500+ is? TDP is also 65W (like the E2160)
As these CPUs support Cool'n'Quiet, I suppose/hope it will be low as well.

(my current system uses this CPU, and the motherboard has 8 SATA ports. See where I'm going? )




MOD, finally found this:
Quote:
November 2004 saw AMD move into the 90 nm age, nine months after Intel did. AMD unveiled a new and very impressive CPU, codenamed Winchester http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winchester (D0), which was only available in the low-cost market segment. As such, the core made its way into the Athlon http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athlon 64 3000+, 3200+ and 3500+ models. The technology it was based on was anything but low-cost, though: we would have loved to see the looks on the faces of Intel's engineers when they measured the power consumption of AMD's 90nm CPUs and realized that even under full load, this unimposing CPU draws a mere 31.4 W. This means AMD was able to reduce the power consumption by about 44% clock for clock. Further measurements taken on a specially-modified motherboard in our Munich lab showed an idle power consumption of only 11.1 W.

But the best was yet to come. When the Cool & Quiet feature was activated and the frequency dropped to 800 MHz, the CPU contented itself with incredible 3.2 W. The Winchester was followed by the Venice stepping, which added SSE3 support to the Athlon 64 and lowered the power consumption even further.
I have a Venice core. Are these numbers correct? Because they are pretty sweet


As I still have a XP120 CPU cooler lying around, passive cooling would be no problem

Last edited by BlackRabbit : 27th June 2008 at 09:19.
BlackRabbit is offline  
Old 27th June 2008, 09:54   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

About right I think.

I remember having 3200+ C&Q enabled and when browsing the fan just turned a few second severy 5 minutes... And even then it turned very gently.
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 1st July 2008, 09:17   #13
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

Could someone tell me how much energy an AMD Duron 800-1000Mhz CPU consumes when idle?
BlackRabbit is offline  
Old 1st July 2008, 09:56   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

I'll measure it this evening. Have a durun 700 here.
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 2nd July 2008, 12:46   #15
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

Thanks!
Information of that kind is not easy to find, unfortunately Those days we didn't mind power consumption that much, I suppose


Can you measure CPU power consumption? Or will it be the total system (cpu,mobo,ram)?
BlackRabbit is offline  
Old 2nd July 2008, 12:48   #16
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

total of course, unless he's able to solder some resistant directly to the CPU socket to measure power draw

anyway, difference between 10W and 30W is not huge BR, let's not get carried away here!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd July 2008, 16:50   #17
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

It's not really the electricity costs that make me ponder. The machine is installed in a pretty small place, without any ventilation. In these circumstances, 20W of power can make a lot of difference in roomtemp.

However, (re)discovered athcool (for AMD Athlon/Duron CPUs). Seems to be able to lower CPU temp reasonably (and thus: room/system temp).

Piotke: could you perhaps measure the difference with<->without athcool-like tools? (unless ofcourse, you're not actually booting into some OS). It would be interesting to see how much difference such a tool could actually make
BlackRabbit is offline  
Old 2nd July 2008, 21:56   #18
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Will test, but after werchter.
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 2nd July 2008, 23:06   #19
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

Thanks!
BlackRabbit is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wikipedia Founder Jimmy Wales Declares Wikia Search Dead jmke WebNews 2 4th April 2009 15:03
Powering a Google search jmke WebNews 0 12th January 2009 19:52
18-month beatdown: Google search crushing Microsoft, Yahoo jmke WebNews 0 14th August 2008 10:41
New HP-Microsoft Live Search deal is all about Silverlight Shogun WebNews 0 2nd June 2008 17:49
Blinkx upgrades the tech on its video search platform Shogun WebNews 0 6th May 2008 22:22
Facial recognition slipped into Google image search jmke WebNews 0 30th May 2007 20:14
Google unveils Desktop Search 3.0, Privacy Blow-up 2.0 jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2006 23:32
Microsoft to Launch Search, Aims to Double Ad Sales jmke WebNews 0 10th November 2004 14:36
New Search engine to challenge google? A9 from Amazon jmke WebNews 1 15th September 2004 15:30
Kartoo search engine Bosw8er Off-Topic Hangout 3 22nd August 2002 12:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:09.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO