It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
RAID questions RAID questions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


RAID questions
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th July 2004, 13:41   #1
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
RAID questions

Ok, I'm going to setup a raid for someone with 2 SATA hdd (maxtor (current hdd with data on it) and samsung (will be the primary).
1)So if I setup the RAID, both hdd will be formated, right ?
2)And if I then copy all his data (image file) to the samsung on another computer, plug it back into his and let hem rebuild the raid arrays, everything will be copied from the samsung to the maxtor ?
3)And if I then unplug the maxtor (in a removable sata rack), work a while with only the samsung (still with raid setup) and plug the maxtor back in and rebuild it, everything will again be copied to the maxtor, and can the raid work long time with only 1 hdd ?
4)And last question, if the samsung gets ****ed up, can I just swap the maxtor and the samsung and rebuild it so all data will be copied from the maxtor to the samsung ?
Am I correct or not ?

Ow, PS, sorry for the ultra crapy english .
 
Old 30th July 2004, 13:50   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what raid will you using? 0 / 1 ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 30th July 2004, 13:56   #3
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

1 (if that is mirroring, damn, I always mix those 2 up )
 
Old 30th July 2004, 14:07   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

1)So if I setup the RAID, both hdd will be formated, right ?

you will be creating a virtual drive with exist of the 2 physical drives, the size will be equal to the size of the smallest one. but during creating you have to build the mirror, if you select the right "master" then all that data will be copied to the 2nd drive.

2)And if I then copy all his data (image file) to the samsung on another computer, plug it back into his and let hem rebuild the raid arrays, everything will be copied from the samsung to the maxtor ?

see answer at point 1), this is not necassary, but do keep the image file as a backup "in case of"


3)And if I then unplug the maxtor (in a removable sata rack), work a while with only the samsung (still with raid setup) and plug the maxtor back in and rebuild it, everything will again be copied to the maxtor, and can the raid work long time with only 1 hdd ?

when you remove one drive the mirror will have a "broken" status, when plugging the maxtor back you have to recreate the mirror, this is a very lenghty process. hours.

4)And last question, if the samsung gets ****ed up, can I just swap the maxtor and the samsung and rebuild it so all data will be copied from the maxtor to the samsung ?

so you basically want a real-time ghost image on a 2nd drive? wouldn't it be faster and easier to schedule a weekly dump of an image from the Samsung to the Maxtor without using raid? Because if you have the 2 drives in RAID-1 and you windows setup get corrupted then that will be on both drives at the same time (ask Bosw8er). RAID-1 can only protect against hardware failures and is aimed at that, but what you are looking for is more like software protection from Windows ****-ups. Norton Ghost + the maxtor as 2nd master on the extra SATA ports without RAID is what I suggest you go for. Using RAID for the service you want it a lenghty process and not risk free and you have the possibility for **** ups also.

by the way, the ghost image will be compressed, so let's say both drives are 80GB, then an image of drive A (78gb full) on drive B will take less space
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accordance ARAID 2200-GP RAID 5.25" Bay jmke WebNews 0 4th February 2009 15:20
OCZ reveals new value SSD "Apex" which uses internal RAID 0 jmke WebNews 1 19th December 2008 07:53
SilverStone DS351 External RAID HDD Storage jmke WebNews 0 1st June 2007 13:39
Build a Cheap and Fast RAID 5 NAS jmke WebNews 0 2nd August 2006 08:58
The RAID 6 Storage Bodyguards jmke WebNews 0 2nd January 2006 23:25
Chipset Serial ATA and RAID performance compared jmke WebNews 0 8th December 2005 11:11
XFX's Revo64 Serial ATA RAID card Sidney WebNews 0 10th November 2005 16:08
Promise Technology Demonstrates RAID 6 And SATA 3G Solutions jmke WebNews 0 3rd March 2005 10:27
VIA Announces the VIA VT6421 PCI Serial ATA RAID Controller jmke WebNews 0 13th January 2004 10:12

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:52.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO