It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Popped caps got me looking for a new mobo. Popped caps got me looking for a new mobo.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Popped caps got me looking for a new mobo.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th October 2005, 11:54   #1
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default Popped caps got me looking for a new mobo.

Yesterday my second PC crashed, nothing new you'd think, but I couldn't get it running no matter what I tried.
So today I opened it up, and thanks to the Epox hex display I found out it was a memory problem. No problem, exept that swapping the memory didn't help.
So I woke up, (it's early here) and I found that nearly every single one of the larger capacitators popped. That's 13 caps in total of several different kinds.

I did notice 2 extra exhaust fans stopped working, what might have caused this problem. But this wasn't a very warm PC. Athlon XP 1800+ running at 166 FSB. So that shouldn't have been too big of a problem.

Popping caps? I thought we passed this problem a long time ago. And although an Epox 8RDA+ isn't very recent, I had expected more from it. And I've seen more recent boards with similar problems. If problems like thins won't be fixed, why bother with higher speed PC's. Luckily some manufacturers use "high quality caps", or at least they say they do. I guess I'll be looking for these words more often now.

And now I'm left thinking if I should try and fix the board, but is't a pain to solder 13 caps? Not to mention high Q caps of these kinds aren't cheap, especially in limited quantities.
Should I try to find a replacement for the board? But socket A mobo's are pretty rare, and I'd like one with some OC capabilities. Should I go for second hand stuff, with all the risks involved, or just settle for something not quite that fast. (luckily THIS PC isn't pushed to it's limits)
Lastly, the industry preffered way these days, just whip out the wallet and get me a new mobo, and new CPU? Probably while I'm at it, just replace the entire PC.

The best part however, my main rig is running on the same motherboard, with a higher overclock, same voltages to memory, and a 200MHz FSB. This is one rig I wouldn't want to loose yet. I'm just not ready to go for any of the new standards. Or should I say, the 'standards" aren't ready for me. If you'd like to call things that change every one or two years, standards anyway.

Today I'm feeling a bit uke: about this.
 
Old 16th October 2005, 13:50   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

The Athlon XP is a HOTTER running core than recent Athlon 64 offerings, so don't think that OC'd XP1800+ is "cool". The fact that your rear case fans stopped working might have something to do with it. What CPU cooling were you using? A large 92/120mm fan which covered the mobo also.. or just a small one 70/80mm for the CPU?

those caps can get quite hot (80-100°) and although active cooling is not required it does help prolong the life of these components.

I would say; get a 2nd hand Socket A motherboard from Ebay or somewhere likewise; max price €20-40 should get you up and running.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 16th October 2005, 14:08   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

A common problem with the 8rda+ and no/little case cooling i'm afraid. : /

Time to upgrade!
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 16th October 2005, 14:13   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard

Time to upgrade!
not needed in my humble opinion, a 2nd hand Socket A mobo would the cheapest and quickest way to get the system going again.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 16th October 2005, 16:51   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Based on how you described your use of equipment in terms of product cycle, a second handed board will be the best way.

I am still using the XP1700+ @2.1Ghz and it is certainly doing the job for the day.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 17th October 2005, 02:45   #6
goingpostale1
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you attend any local LAN Parties ask around about a Nforce 2 Socket A mobo on the cheap. I picked up a Biostar Nforce 2 mobo for $20.
 
Old 17th October 2005, 08:55   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

I have the same problem, 3 caps popped open in my msi + duron proc.

Same thing going to happen in my dads pc (also expor 8rda+), I already told him to get some cooling on the caps and surround components.

We'll see
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO˛@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Old 17th October 2005, 11:18   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Flemmish Brabant
Posts: 82
Wolf2000me Freshly Registered
Default

Send a mail to support@epox.nl

Bad caps on that mobo type is very common as many manufacturers have used those. Epox has a good customer support for that problem as many have had a bad caps problem. Worst case scenario is that they will ask you a small fee for repairing it but chances are they'll do it for free.

cheers
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula // Intel Q6600 G0 3.7Ghz // (OCZ 2048MB 1066MHZ REAPER == junk)
Asus Geforce EN8800GT // 2x 74Gb WD Raptors R0
Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
Wolf2000me is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 15:17   #9
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it has got to be over 3 years old, so free repair isn't going to happen. but I can try to have them ship replacement caps at a small fee.

The CPU was cooled by an arctic cooling heatsink, (the first model with copper plate I think) It's not a top preformer but it could take care of the CPU at higher clockspeeds. Off course case heat might have played some issue here. I can't say how long the fans have been busted, I found this out in the debugging process. Luckily my main rig has 5 fans, + PSU and a zalman on the CPU.

But I found this: http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...&modelmenu =1
And it's available for under 50€, and it looks nice. It has SATA, and is prettly small, but no soundstorm. This is my second PC however and it rarely uses sound anyway.
 
Old 18th October 2005, 15:56   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that CPU cooler had 70mm fan if I'm not mistaken, so it won't cool the components around the socket sufficiently.

Soundstorm will come into play when you use high quality output devices; (5.1&7.1 sets, high quality hi-fi set, etc). For everything else, AC97 will surely be good enough
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
combining two 3 lead fans to one mobo fan connection hewo Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 10th June 2007 19:39
Need Help Pls. with Mobo advice thecookie General Madness - System Building Advice 5 30th March 2007 06:14
old 940 mobo koensa In Demand 0 11th January 2007 15:34
AM2 Enthusiast Deluxe Mobo ˇV MSI K9N Diamond Performance and Analysis windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 29th September 2006 02:22
socket A mobo. kr15t0f In Demand 3 16th December 2004 22:58
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 22:23
Where is the mobo temp. sensor located? GiantKiller Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 15th June 2003 13:52
New mobo: help me choose Xploited Titan Mad Bargains 9 31st May 2003 05:00
Which OC mobo to get? RichBa5tard General Madness - System Building Advice 10 24th November 2002 21:33
mobo doesn't start up biCker Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 18th September 2002 13:23

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:16.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO